Project

General

Profile

11062017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58064 (starting evening of Mon, Nov 6, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Mandeep Gill (Run Mgr)
  • Brian Yanny (observer 1)
  • Marty Murphy (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

mjd 58064, date 20171106, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:57 CLST     UT 18:57     SidTim 16:56
mjd 58064, date 20171106, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 04:50 CLST     UT 07:50     SidTim 06:12
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:17 CLST  23:17 UT   21:39  325 deg
Eve. -10   20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   22:17  334 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:16 CLST  00:16 UT   22:38  340 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   22:59  345 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:02 CLST  02:02 UT   00:24    6 deg
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   02:49   42 deg
Morn -18   05:16 CLST  08:16 UT   06:38  100 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:37 CLST  08:37 UT   06:59  105 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:58 CLST  08:58 UT   07:20  110 deg
Sunrise    06:36 CLST  09:36 UT   07:58  120 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 86.5, Dec 20.0 Phase: 0.769


	

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: few clouds; mostly clear.
  • Temp: 6-10 celsius (roughly)

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • ObsTac - wide field just for a short time
  • ObsTac - SN fields mostly
  • low-z SN obs - manual script (5 mins before -14, obstac(SN) > low-z SN > morning stds)
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards
Did only one set (first as given by calspec) as it was cloudy 
  • Morning standards
Did two sets (first two as given by calspec) 

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-S2 short 20171106
SN-C3 long_g 20171106
SN-X2 short 20171106
SN-X1 short 20171106
SN-C3 long_z 20171106
SN-E2 short 20171106
SN-C3 long_i 20171106
SN-C3 long_r 20171106
SN-S1 short 20171106
SN-C1 short 20171106
SN-C2 short 20171106
SN-X3 long_g 20171106
SN-X3 long_z 20171106
SN-X3 long_i 20171106
SN-X3 long_r 20171106
SN-E1 short 20171106

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps