Project

General

Profile

11062013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56603 (starting evening of Nov 06, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Yuanyuan Zhang Liz Buckley-Geer Marisa March

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Alberto Alvarez Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56603, date 20131106, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
mjd 56603, date 20131106, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:11 CLST     UT 17:11     SidTim 15:34
Sunset     20:17 CLST  23:17 UT   SidTim  325 deg  
Eve. -10   20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   SidTim  334 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:16 CLST  00:16 UT   SidTim  340 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim  345 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:34 CLST  02:34 UT   SidTim   14 deg  
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   SidTim   42 deg  
Morn -18   05:16 CLST  08:16 UT   SidTim  100 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:37 CLST  08:37 UT   SidTim  105 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:58 CLST  08:58 UT   SidTim  110 deg  
Sunrise    06:36 CLST  09:36 UT   SidTim  120 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 273.6, Dec -18.3 Phase: 0.269

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links .

http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png
Satellite shows clear skies

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations script to use: pre_night_callibration.json
  2. Start of night standards
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards

Pre-night Standards
UT Date = '2013/11/06 23:55' Local time = 20:55
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 use script DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 use script DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2140-0000 ra 21:40:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 use script DES_std_sdssj2140_Yzirg.json

Post-night Standards
UT Date = '2013/11/07 08:37' Local time = 05:37
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 use script DES_std_sdssj0320_grizY.json
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.6 use script DES_std_sdssj0958_grizY.json
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.1 use script DES_std_maxvis_grizY.json

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:

  1. Procedure for observing standards tonight is as follows:
    • Ask telops to slew telescope to standard field location.
    • Wait until both dome and telescope are in position.
    • Execute Standard field script.
  2. Updated version of ObsTac will be running tonight
  3. Expectation is that ObsTac will do wide fields survey and SN X3-r field