Project

General

Profile

11052018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58428 (starting evening of Nov 5, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Yuanyuan Zhang (Run Manager)
  • Matt Kirby (observer 1)
  • Joe Derose (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58428, date 20181105, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:31 CLST     UT 18:31     SidTim 16:48
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:16 CLST  23:16 UT   21:33  323 deg
Eve. -10   20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   22:11  333 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:14 CLST  00:14 UT   22:32  338 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   22:53  343 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   02:44   41 deg
Morn -18   05:17 CLST  08:17 UT   06:34   98 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:38 CLST  08:38 UT   06:56  104 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:59 CLST  08:59 UT   07:16  109 deg
Moonrise   06:19 CLST  09:19 UT   07:36  114 deg
Sunrise    06:37 CLST  09:37 UT   07:54  118 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 205.3, Dec -4.5 Phase: 0.105

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/05 23:54'     Local time = 20:54
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (1.6 arcsec < seeing < 2.0) and clear: reverberation, Photosweeps, narrowband
  • Otherwise if bad seeing (seeing > 1.6 arcsec) and not clear, or very bad seeing (seeing > 2.0 arcsec): Narrowband
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/06 08:38'     Local time = 05:38
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.6
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

Priorities (highest to lowest)

Other Notes