Project

General

Profile

11052013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56602 (starting evening of Nov 05, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Yuanyuan Zhang Liz Buckley-Geer Marisa March

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Alberto Alvarez Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56602, date 20131105, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:31 CLST     UT 14:31     SidTim 12:49
Sunset     20:16 CLST  23:16 UT   SidTim  324 deg  
Eve. -10   20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   SidTim  333 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:15 CLST  00:15 UT   SidTim  338 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   SidTim  344 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:35 CLST  01:35 UT   SidTim  358 deg  
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   SidTim   41 deg  
Morn -18   05:17 CLST  08:17 UT   SidTim   99 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:38 CLST  08:38 UT   SidTim  104 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:59 CLST  08:59 UT   SidTim  109 deg  
Sunrise    06:36 CLST  09:36 UT   SidTim  119 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 258.3, Dec -18.8 Phase: 0.188

Weather Conditions

Weather forecast looks clear
Link to satellite map: http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

*Tololo Weather Links .

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations script to use: pre_night_callibration.json
  2. Start of night standards
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards

Start of night standards
UT Date = '2013/11/05 23:54' Local time = 20:54
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2140-0000 ra 21:40:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj2140_Yzirg.json

End of night standards
UT Date = '2013/11/06 08:38' Local time = 05:38
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0320_grizY.json
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.6 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0958_grizY.json

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:

  1. Discussion about updates to ObsTac: if ObsTac is updated SISPI must be re-started, however it is unlikely that the ObsTac update will take place tonight.
  2. Parameters to monitor: In particular monitor the mirror temperature and low dome temperature.
  3. Dome position - the following procedures were suggested:
    • Insert breaks between standards scripts - ask telops to move telescope to ensure telescope and dome are in correct position before exposure begins.
    • Observers to do a visual check in dome of telescope and dome alignment.
    • In general throughout night observers to check that dome and telescope are aligned within ~7degrees.