Project

General

Profile

10302017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58057 (starting evening of Monday, Oct 30, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Yuanyuan Zhang (observer 1)
  • Gourav Khullar (observer 2, run manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


mjd 58057, date 20171030, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:44 CLST     UT 18:44     SidTim 16:39
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:11 CLST  23:11 UT   21:06  316 deg  
Eve. -10   20:48 CLST  23:48 UT   21:43  326 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:09 CLST  00:09 UT   22:03  331 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:30 CLST  00:30 UT   22:24  336 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   02:21   35 deg  
Moonset    04:36 CLST  07:36 UT   05:30   82 deg  
Morn -18   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   06:18   94 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:44 CLST  08:44 UT   06:38  100 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:04 CLST  09:04 UT   06:59  105 deg  
Sunrise    06:41 CLST  09:41 UT   07:36  114 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 346.7, Dec -7.3 Phase: 0.721

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: no clouds -- clouds on the horizon.
  • humidity: 50%
  • Temp: 6-10 celsius

as predicted by Steve Kent at 4pm meeting via some voo-doo magic....

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • ObsTac - wide field
  • ObsTac - SN fields
  • SN X3g fields ~ 03:00 UT (after SN fields obsTac based on forced deadman observes all other X3) - manual script
  • low-z SN obs - manual script (5 mins before -14, obstac(SN) > low-z SN > morning stds)
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/10/30 23:48'     Local time = 20:48
SDSSJ0100-0000
E1-A                  ra 01:24:50  dec -44:33:40  secz 1.4
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/01 08:43'     Local time = 05:43
SDSSJ0958-0010        
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-E1 short 2017-10-26 00:07:30.663083+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-10-26 00:26:47.183073+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-10-26 01:52:35.937135+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-10-26 02:12:10.631756+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-10-26 03:21:09.265299+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-10-26 03:44:24.327557+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-10-26 04:53:47.219244+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-10-26 05:13:32.887608+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-10-26 05:32:59.523427+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-10-26 05:56:07.909494+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-10-26 06:30:24.705162+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-10-26 06:50:54.359066+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-10-27 02:15:16.499489+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-10-27 02:49:23.167217+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-10-28 01:52:53.227269+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-10-28 02:15:49.380185+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps