Project

General

Profile

10302015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57326 (starting evening of Oct 30, 2015)

DES (2012B-0001)

Observers

  • R. Chris Smith (Observer 2)
  • Danny Goldstein (Observer 1)
  • Nikolay Kuropatkin (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57326, date 20151030, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:12 CLST     UT 20:12     SidTim 18:05
Sunset     20:11 CLST  23:11 UT   SidTim  316 deg  
Eve. -10   20:48 CLST  23:48 UT   SidTim  325 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:08 CLST  00:08 UT   SidTim  330 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:29 CLST  00:29 UT   SidTim  336 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:36 CLST  02:36 UT   SidTim    7 deg  
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   SidTim   35 deg  
Morn -18   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim   94 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:44 CLST  08:44 UT   SidTim   99 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:05 CLST  09:05 UT   SidTim  104 deg  
Sunrise    06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   SidTim  114 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 87.9, Dec 18.8 Phase: 0.720

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Obstac
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/10/30 8:45'     Local time = 05:45
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

  • Data processing caught up. Processing on Fermigrid needed to be resubmitted because of a missing
    file: a bad node on Fermigrid. WF done. All the SN that didn't crash looked good.
    The ones that crashed are resubmitted.
  • Probable plan for tonight:
    • Run obsTac no matter what unless dome is closed
  • Data quality assessment done; accepted all

Other Notes