Project

General

Profile

10292017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58056 (starting evening of Sunday, Oct 29, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Gourav Khullar (observer 1)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (observer 2, run manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


mjd 58056, date 20171029, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 05:53 CLST     UT 08:53     SidTim 06:44
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:10 CLST  23:10 UT   21:01  315 deg
Eve. -10   20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   21:38  324 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:08 CLST  00:08 UT   21:59  330 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:29 CLST  00:29 UT   22:19  335 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   02:17   34 deg
Moonset    03:58 CLST  06:58 UT   04:49   72 deg
Morn -18   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   06:15   94 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   06:36   99 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:05 CLST  09:05 UT   06:56  104 deg
Sunrise    06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   07:33  113 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 334.1, Dec -11.1 Phase: 0.656

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: no clouds -- clouds on the horizon.
  • humidity: 50%
  • Temp: 5 to 12 celcius

as predicted by Steve Kent at 4pm meeting via some voo-doo magic....

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • ObsTac
  • Any additional scripts? -- low-z SN 5mins before -14.
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards

UT Date = '2017/10/29 23:47'     Local time = 20:47
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
E9-A                  ra 22:45:37  dec -44:22:47  secz 1.1

  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/10/30 08:45'     Local time = 05:45
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-E1 short 2017-10-26 00:07:30.663083+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-10-26 00:26:47.183073+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-10-26 01:52:35.937135+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-10-26 02:12:10.631756+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-10-26 03:21:09.265299+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-10-26 03:44:24.327557+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-10-26 04:53:47.219244+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-10-26 05:13:32.887608+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-10-26 05:32:59.523427+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-10-26 05:56:07.909494+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-10-26 06:30:24.705162+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-10-26 06:50:54.359066+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-10-27 02:15:16.499489+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-10-27 02:49:23.167217+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-10-28 01:52:53.227269+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-10-28 02:15:49.380185+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps