Project

General

Profile

10292015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57320 (starting evening of Oct 29, 2015)

DES (2012B-0001)

Observers

  • R. Chris Smith (run manager)
  • Danny Goldstein (Observer 1)
  • Nikolay Kuropatkin (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57325, date 20151029, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:27 CLST     UT 19:27     SidTim 17:16
Sunset     20:10 CLST  23:10 UT   SidTim  315 deg
Eve. -10   20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   SidTim  324 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:07 CLST  00:07 UT   SidTim  329 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   SidTim  334 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   22:36 CLST  01:36 UT   SidTim  351 deg
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   SidTim   34 deg
Morn -18   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   SidTim   93 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   SidTim   98 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:06 CLST  09:06 UT   SidTim  104 deg
Sunrise    06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   SidTim  113 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 73.1, Dec 18.1 Phase: 0.796

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Beginning of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/10/29 23:47'     Local time = 20:47
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Obstac
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/10/30 8:45'     Local time = 05:45
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

  • Data transfer and processing all caught up
  • Probable plan for tonight:
    • mostly supernova deadman
    • some wide field in gri
    • no ToO tonight
  • Instructions: take good data!
  • Data quality assessment done; accepted all

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-E2    short    2015-10-20 03:54:57.499696+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-10-20 05:30:01.280999+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-10-21 00:07:58.833511+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-10-21 02:26:46.103320+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-10-22 02:19:52.820737+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-10-22 03:51:08.534037+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-10-22 04:04:09.515229+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-10-22 04:33:14.146963+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-10-23 02:33:02.506782+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-10-23 03:07:11.556888+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-10-23 04:15:39.738757+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-10-24 02:46:48.320736+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-10-24 03:10:11.765722+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-10-24 06:18:01.583602+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-10-24 06:37:33.376164+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-10-24 06:57:04.790275+00:00