Project

General

Profile

10282018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58420 (starting evening of October 28, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Bhuvnesh Jain (observer 1)
  • Raphael Sgier (observer 2)
  • J. Allyn Smith (run manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58420, date 20181028, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:13 CLST     UT 19:13     SidTim 16:59
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:09 CLST  23:09 UT   20:55  314 deg  
Eve. -10   20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   21:32  323 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:07 CLST  00:07 UT   21:52  328 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:27 CLST  00:27 UT   22:13  333 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:15 CLST  03:15 UT   01:01   15 deg  
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   02:12   33 deg  
Morn -18   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   06:11   93 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   06:32   98 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:06 CLST  09:06 UT   06:52  103 deg  
Sunrise    06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   07:29  112 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 93.9, Dec 21.7 Phase: 0.679

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/10/28 23:46'     Local time = 20:46
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • IceCube ToO as soon as standards finish, or 000749UT, whichever comes first.
  • Script is: /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts/icecube_53411354_2018-10-29-00-07-49.json
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (1.6 arcsec < seeing < 2.0) and clear: Photosweeps
  • Otherwise if bad seeing (seeing > 1.6 arcsec) and not clear, or very bad seeing (seeing > 2.0 arcsec): Narrowband
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2018/10/29 08:46'     Local time = 05:46
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

WF survey with ObsTac

Bad Seeing Plan

  • Bad Seeing Priority is Photosweep, then Narrowband.
    There are some restrictions on the conditions for these.
    • Definition of "Bad Seeing"
      If we get PSF > 1.6" for several exposures in a
      row and there isn't any obvious likelihood of improvement to better than
      1.6" in the next 10 minutes then we call the time "bad seeing".
      If the conditions improve to better than 1.6" then it's not "bad seeing" anymore.

Photosweeps (seeing < 2.0)

  • If RM is finished & If "Bad Seeing" and photometric and not worse than 2.0" => do Photosweep.
    Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam or if seeing is highly variable, for
    the varying aperture corrections make it difficult to get to mmag accuracy.
    One needs to run a python script at CTIO to generate the jsons.
    having done that THE Photosweep scripts can be found in
    /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
    with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json
    Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in UT (we got the z added).
    Do not bother with this is there's < 30 minutes left in the night.
    A script probably takes an hour.

Narrow Band

  • If "Bad Seeing" and not photometric, or if "Bad Seeing" and everything else if done,
    then do Narrowband. Description and internal priority:
    https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Narrowband_SN_imaging_program
    Narrowband scripts are in the same directory as photosweep.
    Names like SN-C3X-N964.json
    They are on the SN fields, so select the field that is closest to transit.
    These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only
    moderate, we could do these.
    If the conditions improve and we are past the initial z-band exposures,
    then do the final 2 z-band exposures, then go back to Obstac.

Put in the DQ as normal.
Obstac if seeing isn't bad.