Project

General

Profile

10282017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58055 (starting evening of Saturday, Oct 28, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Gourav Khullar (observer 1)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (observer 2, run manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


mjd 58055, date 20171028, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 04:34 CLST     UT 07:34     SidTim 05:21
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:10 CLST  23:10 UT   20:56  314 deg
Eve. -10   20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   21:33  323 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:07 CLST  00:07 UT   21:54  328 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   22:14  334 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   02:13   33 deg
Moonset    03:19 CLST  06:19 UT   04:06   61 deg
Morn -18   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   06:12   93 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   06:33   98 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:06 CLST  09:06 UT   06:53  103 deg
Sunrise    06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   07:30  112 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 321.5, Dec -14.3 Phase: 0.591

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: no clouds (currently seeing clouds on the sky)
  • humidity: 60% humidity
  • Temp: ~10 celcius

as predicted by Steve Kent at 4pm meeting via some voo-doo magic....

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
  • ObsTac
  • Low z supernova script (~5mins before -14), if Dan sends any?
  • Morning standards

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards

SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

  • Morning standards

UT Date = '2017/10/29 08:46'     Local time = 05:46
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-E1 short 2017-10-26 00:07:30.663083+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-10-26 00:26:47.183073+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-10-26 01:52:35.937135+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-10-26 02:12:10.631756+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-10-26 03:21:09.265299+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-10-26 03:44:24.327557+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-10-26 04:53:47.219244+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-10-26 05:13:32.887608+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-10-26 05:32:59.523427+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-10-26 05:56:07.909494+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-10-26 06:30:24.705162+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-10-26 06:50:54.359066+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-10-27 02:15:16.499489+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-10-27 02:49:23.167217+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-10-28 01:52:53.227269+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-10-28 02:15:49.380185+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps