Project

General

Profile

10272017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58054 (starting evening of Friday, Oct 27, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Gourav Khullar (observer 1)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (observer 2, run manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


mjd 58054, date 20171027, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 05:12 CLST     UT 08:12     SidTim 05:55
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:09 CLST  23:09 UT   20:52  313 deg
Eve. -10   20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   21:29  322 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:06 CLST  00:06 UT   21:49  327 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:27 CLST  00:27 UT   22:09  332 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   02:09   32 deg
Moonset    02:38 CLST  05:38 UT   03:21   50 deg
Morn -18   05:26 CLST  08:26 UT   06:09   92 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   06:30   98 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:07 CLST  09:07 UT   06:50  102 deg
Sunrise    06:44 CLST  09:44 UT   07:27  112 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 309.0, Dec -16.8 Phase: 0.527

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: thin high clouds
  • humidity: 60% humidity
  • Temp: ~10 celcius

as predicted by Steve Kent at 4pm meeting via some voo-doo magic....

  • ? 60% clouds. good seeing as last night.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
  • ObsTac
  • Low z supernova script (~5mins before -14)
  • Morning standards

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/10/27 23:46'     Local time = 20:46
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/10/28 08:47'     Local time = 05:47
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-C2 short 2017-10-21 03:43:27.602646+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-10-21 04:08:29.968032+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-10-26 00:07:30.663083+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-10-26 00:26:47.183073+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-10-26 01:52:35.937135+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-10-26 02:12:10.631756+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-10-26 03:21:09.265299+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-10-26 03:44:24.327557+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-10-26 04:53:47.219244+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-10-26 05:13:32.887608+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-10-26 05:32:59.523427+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-10-26 05:56:07.909494+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-10-26 06:30:24.705162+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-10-26 06:50:54.359066+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-10-27 02:15:16.499489+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-10-27 02:49:23.167217+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps