Project

General

Profile

10262018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58418 (starting evening of October 26, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Bhuvnesh Jain (observer 2)
  • Raphael Sgier (observer 1)
  • J. Allyn Smith (run manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58413, date 20181021, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:25 CLST     UT 18:25     SidTim 15:43
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:08 CLST  23:08 UT   20:46  312 deg  
Eve. -10   20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   21:23  321 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:05 CLST  00:05 UT   21:43  326 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:25 CLST  00:25 UT   22:03  331 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   22:10 CLST  01:10 UT   22:48  342 deg
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   02:04   31 deg  
Morn -18   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   06:06   92 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   06:26   96 deg  End obstac; begin standards  
Morn -10   06:08 CLST  09:08 UT   06:46  102 deg  
Sunrise    06:45 CLST  09:45 UT   07:23  111 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 64.4, Dec 17.7 Phase: 0.829

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/10/26 23:45'     Local time = 20:45
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (1.6 arcsec < seeing < 2.0) and clear: Photosweeps
  • Otherwise if bad seeing (seeing > 1.6 arcsec) and not clear, or very bad seeing (seeing > 2.0 arcsec): Narrowband
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/10/27 08:48'     Local time = 05:48
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

Priorities (highest to lowest)

WF survey with ObsTac

Photosweeps (seeing < 2.0)

  • If RM is finished & If "Bad Seeing" and photometric and not worse than 2.0" => do Photosweep.
    Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam or if seeing is highly variable, for
    the varying aperture corrections make it difficult to get to mmag accuracy.
    One needs to run a python script at CTIO to generate the jsons.
    having done that THE Photosweep scripts can be found in
    /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
    with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json
    Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in UT (we got the z added).
    Do not bother with this is there's < 30 minutes left in the night.
    A script probably takes an hour.

Narrow Band

  • If "Bad Seeing" and not photometric, or if "Bad Seeing" and everything else if done,
    then do Narrowband. Description and internal priority:
    https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Narrowband_SN_imaging_program
    Narrowband scripts are in the same directory as photosweep.
    Names like SN-C3X-N964.json
    They are on the SN fields, so select the field that is closest to transit.
    These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only
    moderate, we could do these.
    If the conditions improve and we are past the initial z-band exposures,
    then do the final 2 z-band exposures, then go back to Obstac.

Put in the DQ as normal.
Obstac if seeing isn't bad.

Other Notes