Project

General

Profile

10262017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58053 (starting evening of Thursday, Oct 26, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Nora Shipp (run manager)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (observer 1)
  • Gourav Khullar (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:08 CLST  23:08 UT   20:47  312 deg  
Eve. -10   20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   21:24  321 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:05 CLST  00:05 UT   21:44  326 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:26 CLST  00:26 UT   22:05  331 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   02:05   31 deg  
Moonset    01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   02:34   38 deg  
Morn -18   05:27 CLST  08:27 UT   06:06   92 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   06:27   97 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:08 CLST  09:08 UT   06:47  102 deg  
Sunrise    06:45 CLST  09:45 UT   07:24  111 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 296.5, Dec -18.4 Phase: 0.461

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear until 6am local, then partly cloudy
  • humidity: 20% - 30%
  • Temp: ~8-10 degrees

as predicted by Steve Kent at 4pm meeting via some voo-doo magic....

  • ?

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • ObsTac (20 min)
  • Stripe 82 script (if seeing < 1.1")
  • ObsTac
  • End ObsTac, run low-z script (at 5 min before -14, unless currently observing supernova fields, then wait till they finish)
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools


SDSSDSSJ0100-0000     ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

  • Morning standards

SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-C3 long_i 2017-10-20 02:41:21.067925+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-10-20 03:33:12.751626+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-10-21 03:43:27.602646+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-10-21 04:08:29.968032+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-10-26 00:07:30.663083+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-10-26 00:26:47.183073+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-10-26 01:52:35.937135+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-10-26 02:12:10.631756+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-10-26 03:21:09.265299+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-10-26 03:44:24.327557+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-10-26 04:53:47.219244+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-10-26 05:13:32.887608+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-10-26 05:32:59.523427+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-10-26 05:56:07.909494+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-10-26 06:30:24.705162+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-10-26 06:50:54.359066+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps