Project

General

Profile

10252017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58052 (starting evening of Wednesday, Oct 25, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Nora Shipp (run manager)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (observer 1)
  • Gourav Khullar (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Rodrigo Hernandez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:07 CLST  23:07 UT   20:42  310 deg  
Eve. -10   20:44 CLST  23:44 UT   21:19  320 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:04 CLST  00:04 UT   21:39  325 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:25 CLST  00:25 UT   22:00  330 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:10 CLST  04:10 UT   01:44   26 deg  
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   02:02   30 deg  
Morn -18   05:29 CLST  08:29 UT   06:04   91 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   06:24   96 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:09 CLST  09:09 UT   06:44  101 deg  
Sunrise    06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   07:21  110 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 284.0, Dec -19.2 Phase: 0.396

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear all night
  • humidity: 25% - 60%
  • Temp: ~9-14 degrees

as predicted by Steve Kent at 4pm meeting via some voo-doo magic....

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • ObsTac - E1 & E2
  • Stripe 82 - eq-oct25-1hr-t8.json (40 min) (if seeing < 1.1")
  • Comet - comet-oct25.json (10 min) (if seeing < 1.1")
  • ObsTac
  • Morning standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools


SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

  • Morning standards

SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-S2 short 2017-10-18 07:10:38.191193+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-10-18 07:30:11.582961+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-10-19 00:03:21.238597+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-10-19 00:22:44.133962+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-10-19 02:20:59.824811+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-10-19 02:40:26.339767+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-10-19 03:03:29.608395+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-10-19 03:57:25.757688+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-10-19 06:09:07.029893+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-10-19 06:41:34.889245+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-10-19 06:54:36.158381+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-10-19 07:28:55.237339+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-10-20 02:41:21.067925+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-10-20 03:33:12.751626+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-10-21 03:43:27.602646+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-10-21 04:08:29.968032+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps