Project

General

Profile

10222014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56953 (starting evening of Oct 22, 2014)

Observers

  • Kathleen Grabowski
  • Hal Spinka
  • Ann Elliott

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez
  • Claudio Aguilera

Almanac

mjd 56953, date 20141022, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:00 CLST     UT 18:00     SidTim 15:22
Sunset     20:05 CLST  23:05 UT   SidTim  307 deg  
Eve. -10   20:41 CLST  23:41 UT   SidTim  316 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:01 CLST  00:01 UT   SidTim  321 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:21 CLST  00:21 UT   SidTim  326 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   SidTim   27 deg  
Morn -18   05:33 CLST  08:33 UT   SidTim   89 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   SidTim   94 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:13 CLST  09:13 UT   SidTim   99 deg  
Moonrise   06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   SidTim  107 deg  
Sunrise    06:49 CLST  09:49 UT   SidTim  108 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 199.8, Dec -7.5 Phase: 0.059

Weather Conditions

Clouds in the afternoon, satellite images showed clouds. Happily, most of the night turned out to be clearer than we'd expected.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards