Project

General

Profile

10212018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58412 (starting evening of October 21, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Daniel Gruen (observer 2, Run Manager)
  • Andres Plazas (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58413, date 20181021, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:25 CLST     UT 18:25     SidTim 15:43
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:04 CLST  23:04 UT   20:22  306 deg  
Eve. -10   20:41 CLST  23:41 UT   20:59  315 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:00 CLST  00:00 UT   21:19  320 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:21 CLST  00:21 UT   21:39  325 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   01:45   26 deg  
Morn -18   05:34 CLST  08:34 UT   05:52   88 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:54 CLST  08:54 UT   06:12   93 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Moonset    05:59 CLST  08:59 UT   06:17   94 deg  
Morn -10   06:14 CLST  09:14 UT   06:32   98 deg  
Sunrise    06:50 CLST  09:50 UT   07:08  107 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 0.1, Dec -4.0 Phase: 0.846

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/10/21 23:41'     Local time = 20:41
    E1-A                  ra 01:24:50  dec -44:33:40  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (1.6 arcsec < seeing < 2.0) and clear: Photosweeps
  • Otherwise if bad seeing (seeing > 1.6 arcsec) and not clear, or very bad seeing (seeing > 2.0 arcsec): Narrowband
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/10/22 08:54'     Local time = 05:54
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 2.1
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

Priorities (highest to lowest)

WF survey with ObsTac

Photosweeps (seeing < 2.0)

  • If RM is finished & If "Bad Seeing" and photometric and not worse than 2.0" => do Photosweep.
    Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam or if seeing is highly variable, for
    the varying aperture corrections make it difficult to get to mmag accuracy.
    One needs to run a python script at CTIO to generate the jsons.
    having done that THE Photosweep scripts can be found in
    /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
    with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json
    Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in UT (we got the z added).
    Do not bother with this is there's < 30 minutes left in the night.
    A script probably takes an hour.

Narrow Band

  • If "Bad Seeing" and not photometric, then do narrowband. Description:
    https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Narrowband_SN_imaging_program
    Narrowband scripts are in the same directory as photosweep.
    Names like SN-C3X-N964.json
    They are on the SN fields, selection criteria are given on the above wiki page.
    These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only
    moderate, we could do these.

Put in the DQ as normal.
Obstac if seeing isn't bad.

Other Notes