Project

General

Profile

10212017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58048 (starting evening of Saturday, Oct 21, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Sunayana Bhargava (run manager)
  • Nora Shipp (observer 1)
  • Kathy Romer (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


mjd 58048, date 20171021, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:32 CLST     UT 18:32     SidTim 15:51
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:04 CLST  23:04 UT   20:24  306 deg  
Eve. -10   20:41 CLST  23:41 UT   21:00  315 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:01 CLST  00:01 UT   21:20  320 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:21 CLST  00:21 UT   21:40  325 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    21:45 CLST  00:45 UT   22:05  331 deg  
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   01:46   26 deg  
Morn -18   05:33 CLST  08:33 UT   05:53   88 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:54 CLST  08:54 UT   06:13   93 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:14 CLST  09:14 UT   06:33   98 deg  
Sunrise    06:50 CLST  09:50 UT   07:09  107 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 234.7, Dec -13.8 Phase: 0.140

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: None now, none all night until approximately 04:00 local time (high clouds)
  • humidity: 24% to 30%
  • Temp: ~11-14 degrees

as predicted by Steve Kent at 4pm meeting via some voo-doo magic....

  • Tom stood in for the guru: better than last night

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools


UT Date = '2017/10/21 23:41'     Local time = 20:41
E1-A                  ra 01:24:50  dec -44:33:40  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

  • evening calibrations
  • evening standards
  • running ObsTac for 30 minutes
  • if seeing is good enough, run the Stripe-82 script
  • resume ObsTac until end of night
  • end of night standards
  • end of night zeros
  • Morning standards (grizY)

UT Date = '2017/10/21 08:55'     Local time = 05:55
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-S2 short 2017-10-18 07:10:38.191193+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-10-18 07:30:11.582961+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-10-19 00:03:21.238597+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-10-19 00:22:44.133962+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-10-19 02:20:59.824811+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-10-19 02:40:26.339767+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-10-19 03:03:29.608395+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-10-19 03:57:25.757688+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-10-19 06:09:07.029893+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-10-19 06:41:34.889245+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-10-19 06:54:36.158381+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-10-19 07:28:55.237339+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-10-20 02:41:21.067925+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-10-20 03:33:12.751626+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-10-21 03:43:27.602646+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-10-21 04:08:29.968032+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps