Project

General

Profile

10202018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58411 (starting evening of October 20, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Andres Plazas (observer 2, Run Manager)
  • Daniel Gruen (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58412, date 20181020, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:27 CLST     UT 17:27     SidTim 14:41
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:03 CLST  23:03 UT   20:18  304 deg  
Eve. -10   20:40 CLST  23:40 UT   20:54  314 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:59 CLST  23:59 UT   21:14  318 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:20 CLST  00:20 UT   21:34  324 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   01:42   26 deg  
Moonset    05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   05:39   85 deg  
Morn -18   05:35 CLST  08:35 UT   05:49   87 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:55 CLST  08:55 UT   06:09   92 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:15 CLST  09:15 UT   06:29   97 deg  
Sunrise    06:51 CLST  09:51 UT   07:05  106 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 348.2, Dec -8.3 Phase: 0.785

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/10/20 23:40'     Local time = 20:40
    E1-A                  ra 01:24:50  dec -44:33:40  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (1.6 arcsec < seeing < 2.0) and clear: Photosweeps
  • Otherwise if bad seeing (seeing > 1.6 arcsec) and not clear, or very bad seeing (seeing > 2.0 arcsec): Narrowband
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/10/21 08:55'     Local time = 05:55
    SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

No 4 p.m meeting. Same plan as last night. CCD N10 right amplifier has problems. If it still continues like that, we will proceed as planned anyways.

Priorities (highest to lowest)

WF survey with ObsTac

Photosweeps (seeing < 2.0)

  • If RM is finished & If "Bad Seeing" and photometric and not worse than 2.0" => do Photosweep.
    Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam or if seeing is highly variable, for
    the varying aperture corrections make it difficult to get to mmag accuracy.
    One needs to run a python script at CTIO to generate the jsons.
    having done that THE Photosweep scripts can be found in
    /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
    with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json
    Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in UT (we got the z added).
    Do not bother with this is there's < 30 minutes left in the night.
    A script probably takes an hour.

Narrow Band

  • If "Bad Seeing" and not photometric, then do narrowband. Description:
    https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Narrowband_SN_imaging_program
    Narrowband scripts are in the same directory as photosweep.
    Names like SN-C3X-N964.json
    They are on the SN fields, selection criteria are given on the above wiki page.
    These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only
    moderate, we could do these.

Put in the DQ as normal.
Obstac if seeing isn't bad.

Other Notes