Project

General

Profile

10202017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58047 (starting evening of Friday, Oct 20, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Sunayana Bhargava (run manager)
  • Nora Shipp (observer 1)
  • Kathy Romer (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


mjd 58047, date 20171020, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:21 CLST     UT 18:21     SidTim 15:36
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:04 CLST  23:04 UT   20:19  305 deg  
Eve. -10   20:40 CLST  23:40 UT   20:55  314 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Moonset    20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   21:06  316 deg  
Eve. -14   21:00 CLST  00:00 UT   21:15  319 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:20 CLST  00:20 UT   21:35  324 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   01:43   26 deg  
Morn -18   05:35 CLST  08:35 UT   05:50   88 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:55 CLST  08:55 UT   06:10   92 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:15 CLST  09:15 UT   06:30   98 deg  
Sunrise    06:51 CLST  09:51 UT   07:06  106 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 222.7, Dec -10.7 Phase: 0.079

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 90% middle clouds at the moment, but looks clear all night
  • humidity: 26% to 43%
  • Temp: ~11 degrees

as predicted by Steve Kent at 4pm meeting via some voo-doo magic....

  • Tom stood in for the guru: better than last night

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg*u*)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools


UT Date = '2017/10/20 23:40'     Local time = 20:40
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

  • evening calibrations
  • evening standards
  • running OBSTAC for ~20 minutes
  • if seeing is good enough, run the Stripe-82 script
  • at roughly 2 UT, check seeing conditions in g, r bands, and extinction > 0.3. if OK, run Alhambra script.
  • stop OBSTAC 8 minutes before normal and execute low-z SN TOO script.
  • if there is time between script finishing and standards, restart OBSTAC
  • morning standards
  • Morning standards (*u*grizY)

UT Date = '2017/10/21 08:55'     Local time = 05:55
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-C1 short 2017-10-14 08:41:38.440673+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-10-15 03:04:58.285436+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-10-15 03:24:28.702888+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-10-17 06:43:45.044090+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-10-18 07:10:38.191193+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-10-18 07:30:11.582961+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-10-19 00:03:21.238597+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-10-19 00:22:44.133962+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-10-19 02:20:59.824811+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-10-19 02:40:26.339767+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-10-19 03:03:29.608395+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-10-19 03:57:25.757688+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-10-19 06:09:07.029893+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-10-19 06:41:34.889245+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-10-19 06:54:36.158381+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-10-19 07:28:55.237339+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps