Project

General

Profile

10192017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58046 (starting evening of Wednesday, Oct 19, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Kathy Romer (run manager)
  • Sunayana Bhargava (observer 1)
  • Nora Shipp (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


mjd 58046, date 20171019, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:39 CLST     UT 18:39     SidTim 15:50
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:03 CLST  23:03 UT   20:14  304 deg  
Eve. -10   20:39 CLST  23:39 UT   20:50  312 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:59 CLST  23:59 UT   21:10  318 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:19 CLST  00:19 UT   21:30  322 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   01:39   25 deg  
Morn -18   05:36 CLST  08:36 UT   05:47   87 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:56 CLST  08:56 UT   06:07   92 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:16 CLST  09:16 UT   06:27   97 deg  
Sunrise    06:52 CLST  09:52 UT   07:03  106 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 210.9, Dec -7.0 Phase: 0.017

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: looks great all night!
  • humidity: 45-08%
  • Temp: ~13%

as predicted by Steve Kent at 4pm meeting via some voo-doo magic....

  • Tom stood in for the guru: better than last night

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg*u*)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools


UT Date = '2017/10/19 23:39'     Local time = 20:39
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

  • Obstac for 20 minutes, if seeing is good...
  • S82 script (~1 hour)
  • Obstac until 2 UT, if seeing is good...
  • Alhambra script
  • Obstac till dawn
  • Morning standards (*u*grizY)

UT Date = '2017/10/20 08:56'     Local time = 05:56
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-C1 short 2017-10-14 08:41:38.440673+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-10-15 03:04:58.285436+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-10-15 03:24:28.702888+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-10-17 06:43:45.044090+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-10-18 07:10:38.191193+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-10-18 07:30:11.582961+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-10-19 00:03:21.238597+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-10-19 00:22:44.133962+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-10-19 02:20:59.824811+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-10-19 02:40:26.339767+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-10-19 03:03:29.608395+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-10-19 03:57:25.757688+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-10-19 06:09:07.029893+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-10-19 06:41:34.889245+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-10-19 06:54:36.158381+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-10-19 07:28:55.237339+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps