Project

General

Profile

10182018 » History » Version 1

Andres Plazas, 10/18/2018 01:35 PM

1 1 Andres Plazas
h1. 10182018
2 1 Andres Plazas
3 1 Andres Plazas
4 1 Andres Plazas
h2. Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58410 (starting evening of October 18, 2018)
5 1 Andres Plazas
6 1 Andres Plazas
DES has the full night.
7 1 Andres Plazas
8 1 Andres Plazas
h3. Observers
9 1 Andres Plazas
10 1 Andres Plazas
* Andres Plazas (observer 2, Run Manager)
11 1 Andres Plazas
* Daniel Gruen (observer 1)
12 1 Andres Plazas
13 1 Andres Plazas
14 1 Andres Plazas
h3. CTIO Staff
15 1 Andres Plazas
16 1 Andres Plazas
* Manuel Hernandez
17 1 Andres Plazas
* Alberto Alvarez
18 1 Andres Plazas
* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
19 1 Andres Plazas
20 1 Andres Plazas
h3. Almanac
21 1 Andres Plazas
22 1 Andres Plazas
from kentools ephem
23 1 Andres Plazas
24 1 Andres Plazas
<pre>
25 1 Andres Plazas
mjd 58410, date 20181018, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
26 1 Andres Plazas
Current local time 15:11 CLST     UT 18:11     SidTim 15:17
27 1 Andres Plazas
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
28 1 Andres Plazas
Sunset     20:02 CLST  23:02 UT   20:08  302 deg  
29 1 Andres Plazas
Eve. -10   20:38 CLST  23:38 UT   20:45  311 deg  Zeropoint; standards
30 1 Andres Plazas
Eve. -14   20:58 CLST  23:58 UT   21:04  316 deg  Begin obstac
31 1 Andres Plazas
Eve. -18   21:18 CLST  00:18 UT   21:24  321 deg  Last chance standards
32 1 Andres Plazas
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   01:34   24 deg  
33 1 Andres Plazas
Moonset    04:14 CLST  07:14 UT   04:21   65 deg  
34 1 Andres Plazas
Morn -18   05:38 CLST  08:38 UT   05:44   86 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
35 1 Andres Plazas
Morn -14   05:57 CLST  08:57 UT   06:04   91 deg  End obstac; begin standards
36 1 Andres Plazas
Morn -10   06:17 CLST  09:17 UT   06:24   96 deg  
37 1 Andres Plazas
Sunrise    06:53 CLST  09:53 UT   07:00  105 deg  
38 1 Andres Plazas
Moon position (deg): RA 324.3, Dec -15.4 Phase: 0.662
39 1 Andres Plazas
</pre>
40 1 Andres Plazas
41 1 Andres Plazas
h3. Weather Conditions
42 1 Andres Plazas
43 1 Andres Plazas
* clear, calm
44 1 Andres Plazas
* Tonight: clear, calm, humidity: 58%-31%
45 1 Andres Plazas
* "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
46 1 Andres Plazas
47 1 Andres Plazas
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
48 1 Andres Plazas
49 1 Andres Plazas
* DES full night
50 1 Andres Plazas
* Evening standards
51 1 Andres Plazas
<pre>
52 1 Andres Plazas
UT Date = '2018/10/18 23:38'     Local time = 20:38
53 1 Andres Plazas
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
54 1 Andres Plazas
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
55 1 Andres Plazas
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
56 1 Andres Plazas
</pre>
57 1 Andres Plazas
58 1 Andres Plazas
* Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
59 1 Andres Plazas
* If bad seeing (1.6 arcsec < seeing < 2.0) and clear: Photosweeps
60 1 Andres Plazas
* Otherwise if bad seeing (seeing > 1.6 arcsec) and not clear, or very bad seeing (seeing > 2.0 arcsec): Narrowband
61 1 Andres Plazas
* Morning standards
62 1 Andres Plazas
<pre>
63 1 Andres Plazas
UT Date = '2018/10/19 8:57'     Local time = 05:57
64 1 Andres Plazas
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.9
65 1 Andres Plazas
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
66 1 Andres Plazas
MaxVis 
67 1 Andres Plazas
</pre>
68 1 Andres Plazas
69 1 Andres Plazas
h3. Useful links
70 1 Andres Plazas
71 1 Andres Plazas
"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
72 1 Andres Plazas
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
73 1 Andres Plazas
74 1 Andres Plazas
h2. Notes from 4PM Meeting
75 1 Andres Plazas
76 1 Andres Plazas
h2. Priorities (highest to lowest)
77 1 Andres Plazas
78 1 Andres Plazas
h3. WF survey with ObsTac
79 1 Andres Plazas
80 1 Andres Plazas
h3. Photosweeps (seeing < 2.0)
81 1 Andres Plazas
82 1 Andres Plazas
* If RM is finished & If "Bad Seeing" and photometric and not worse than 2.0" =>  do Photosweep.
83 1 Andres Plazas
Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam or if seeing is highly variable, for
84 1 Andres Plazas
the varying aperture corrections make it difficult to get to mmag accuracy.
85 1 Andres Plazas
   One needs to run a python script at CTIO to generate the jsons.
86 1 Andres Plazas
 having done that THE Photosweep scripts can be found in
87 1 Andres Plazas
 /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
88 1 Andres Plazas
with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json
89 1 Andres Plazas
Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in UT (we got the z added).
90 1 Andres Plazas
Do not bother with this is there's < 30 minutes left in the night.
91 1 Andres Plazas
   A script probably takes an hour.
92 1 Andres Plazas
93 1 Andres Plazas
h3. Narrow Band
94 1 Andres Plazas
95 1 Andres Plazas
* If "Bad Seeing" and not photometric, then do narrowband. Description:
96 1 Andres Plazas
https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Narrowband_SN_imaging_program
97 1 Andres Plazas
Narrowband scripts are in the same directory as photosweep.
98 1 Andres Plazas
Names like SN-C3X-N964.json
99 1 Andres Plazas
They are on the SN fields, selection criteria are given on the above wiki page.
100 1 Andres Plazas
These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only
101 1 Andres Plazas
 moderate, we could do these.
102 1 Andres Plazas
 
103 1 Andres Plazas
Put in the DQ as normal.
104 1 Andres Plazas
Obstac if seeing isn't bad.
105 1 Andres Plazas
106 1 Andres Plazas
h2. Other Notes