Project

General

Profile

10182017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58045 (starting evening of Wednesday, Oct 18, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Kathy Romer (run manager)
  • Sunayana Bhargava (observer 1)
  • Nora Shipp (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


mjd 58045, date 20171018, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:54 CLST     UT 18:54     SidTim 16:02
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:02 CLST  23:02 UT   20:10  302 deg  
Eve. -10   20:38 CLST  23:38 UT   20:46  312 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:58 CLST  23:58 UT   21:05  316 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:18 CLST  00:18 UT   21:25  321 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   01:35   24 deg  
Morn -18   05:37 CLST  08:37 UT   05:45   86 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:57 CLST  08:57 UT   06:04   91 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:17 CLST  09:17 UT   06:24   96 deg  
Sunrise    06:53 CLST  09:53 UT   07:00  105 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 199.0, Dec -2.9 Phase: 0.044

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • looks great!
  • humidity ~25%
  • Temp ~11%

as predicted by Steve Kent at 4pm meeting via some voo-doo magic....

  • Elvis had left the building. Brian laughed in a rather alarming fashion. Someone mumbled "better than last night", which is rather lame considering we were clouded out!

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools


UT Date = '2017/10/18 23:38'     Local time = 20:38
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

  • Obstac for 15 minutes, check seeing, if <1.1", move to the S82 script
  • S82 script: give it a while, then check if t_eff is usually OK
  • go back to Obstac after S82 script is finished, or if we kill it
  • Morning standards (grizY)

UT Date = '2017/10/19 08:57'     Local time = 05:57
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-E1 short 2017-10-13 23:58:51.995700+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-10-14 00:49:39.161414+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-10-14 03:32:54.947818+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-10-14 03:52:19.498549+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-10-14 04:31:21.275997+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-10-14 05:12:05.457815+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-10-14 06:25:48.554292+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-10-14 06:46:18.798811+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-10-14 06:59:18.166226+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-10-14 07:22:30.707338+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-10-14 08:41:38.440673+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-10-15 03:04:58.285436+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-10-15 03:24:28.702888+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-10-17 06:43:45.044090+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-10-18 07:10:38.191193+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-10-18 07:30:11.582961+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps