Project

General

Profile

10172018 » History » Version 17

« Previous - Version 17/18 (diff) - Next » - Current version
Daniel Gruen, 10/17/2018 02:37 PM


10172018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58399 (starting evening of October 17, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Andres Plazas (observer 1)
  • Daniel Gruen (observer 2, Run Manager)
  • (Ben Moews had to depart due to family emergency)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58409, date 20181017, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:10 CLST     UT 18:10     SidTim 15:12
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:01 CLST  23:01 UT   20:04  301 deg  
Eve. -10   20:37 CLST  23:37 UT   20:40  310 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   20:59  315 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:17 CLST  00:17 UT   21:19  320 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   01:30   22 deg  
Moonset    03:35 CLST  06:35 UT   03:38   54 deg  
Morn -18   05:39 CLST  08:39 UT   05:41   85 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:58 CLST  08:58 UT   06:01   90 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:18 CLST  09:18 UT   06:21   95 deg  
Sunrise    06:54 CLST  09:54 UT   06:57  104 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 312.1, Dec -18.0 Phase: 0.599

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/10/17 23:37'     Local time = 20:37
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • doing five missing reverberation mapping fields when seeing is bad or they culminate (3am / 6am UT), whichever comes first. After that if seeing is bad pick according to the following criteria.
  • If bad seeing (1.6 arcsec < seeing < 2.0) and clear: Photosweeps
  • Otherwise if bad seeing (seeing > 1.6 arcsec) and not clear, or very bad seeing (seeing > 2.0 arcsec): Narrowband
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/10/18 08:58'     Local time = 05:58
    SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

Priorities (highest to lowest)

Reverberation Mapping (seeing < 2.5)

Photosweeps (seeing < 2.0)

  • If RM is finished & If "Bad Seeing" and photometric and not worse than 2.0" => do Photosweep.
    Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam or if seeing is highly variable, for
    the varying aperture corrections make it difficult to get to mmag accuracy.
    One needs to run a python script at CTIO to generate the jsons.
    having done that THE Photosweep scripts can be found in
    /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
    with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json
    Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in UT (we got the z added).
    Do not bother with this is there's < 30 minutes left in the night.
    A script probably takes an hour.

Narrow Band

  • If "Bad Seeing" and not photometric, then do narrowband. Description:
    https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Narrowband_SN_imaging_program
    Narrowband scripts are in the same directory as photosweep.
    Names like SN-C3X-N964.json
    They are on the SN fields, selection criteria are given on the above wiki page.
    These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only
    moderate, we could do these.

Put in the DQ as normal.
Obstac if seeing isn't bad.

Other Notes