Project

General

Profile

10172017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58044 (starting evening of Tuesday, Oct 17, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Kathy Romer (run manager)
  • Kathy Romer -> SB (observer 1)
  • Sunayana Bhargava -> Nora Shipp (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera, Jacqueline Seron - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández, Jacqueline Seron // Obs. Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58044, date 20171017, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:10 CLST     UT 20:10     SidTim 17:13
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:02 CLST  23:02 UT   20:05  301 deg  
Eve. -10   20:38 CLST  23:38 UT   20:41  310 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   21:01  315 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:17 CLST  00:17 UT   21:21  320 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   01:31   23 deg  
Morn -18   05:39 CLST  08:39 UT   05:42   86 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:58 CLST  08:58 UT   06:02   90 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:18 CLST  09:18 UT   06:22   96 deg  
Moonrise   06:33 CLST  09:33 UT   06:37   99 deg  
Sunrise    06:54 CLST  09:54 UT   06:58  104 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 187.0, Dec 1.3 Phase: 0.106

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • partial cloud cover at 4pm, weather page suggests this will continue through the night
  • humidity ~40%
  • Temp ~11%

as predicted by Steve Kent at 4pm meeting via some voo-doo magic....

  • seeing of ~1''

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
    UT Date = '2017/10/17 23:38'     Local time = 20:38
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
    
  • Obstac (not expecting to do TOO, photo-z fields)
  • Morning standards (grizY)
    UT Date = '2017/10/18 08:58'     Local time = 05:58
    SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-S2 short 2017-10-13 04:48:38.706422+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-10-13 23:58:51.995700+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-10-14 00:49:39.161414+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-10-14 03:13:36.457183+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-10-14 03:32:54.947818+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-10-14 03:52:19.498549+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-10-14 04:31:21.275997+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-10-14 05:12:05.457815+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-10-14 06:25:48.554292+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-10-14 06:46:18.798811+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-10-14 06:59:18.166226+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-10-14 07:22:30.707338+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-10-14 08:41:38.440673+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-10-15 03:04:58.285436+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-10-15 03:24:28.702888+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-10-17 06:43:45.044090+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps