Project

General

Profile

10162017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58043 (starting evening of Monday, Oct 16, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Devon Hollowood (run manager)
  • Kathy Romer (observer 1)
  • Sunayana Bhargava (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández // Obs. Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58043, date 20171016, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:00 CLST     UT 20:00     SidTim 17:00
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:01 CLST  23:01 UT   20:00  300 deg  
Eve. -10   20:37 CLST  23:37 UT   20:36  309 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   20:56  314 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:16 CLST  00:16 UT   21:16  319 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   01:27   22 deg  
Morn -18   05:40 CLST  08:40 UT   05:39   85 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonrise   05:57 CLST  08:57 UT   05:57   89 deg  
Morn -14   05:59 CLST  08:59 UT   05:59   90 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:19 CLST  09:19 UT   06:19   95 deg  
Sunrise    06:55 CLST  09:55 UT   06:55  104 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 174.8, Dec 5.6 Phase: 0.169

Weather Conditions

  • Clear skies
  • Variable humidity 20%-60%
  • Temp ~ 11 C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg*u*)
    UT Date = '2017/10/16 23:37'     Local time = 20:37
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac
  • Add low-Z supernova script. /usr/remote/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts/Oct16_lowz.json
  • Morning standards (*u*grizY)
    SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-S2    short    2017-10-13 04:48:38.706422+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-10-13 05:08:14.367250+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-10-13 23:58:51.995700+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-10-14 00:49:39.161414+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-10-14 03:13:36.457183+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-10-14 03:32:54.947818+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-10-14 03:52:19.498549+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-10-14 04:31:21.275997+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-10-14 05:12:05.457815+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-10-14 06:25:48.554292+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-10-14 06:46:18.798811+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-10-14 06:59:18.166226+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-10-14 07:22:30.707338+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-10-14 08:41:38.440673+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-10-15 03:04:58.285436+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-10-15 03:24:28.702888+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps