Project

General

Profile

10162015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57311 (starting evening of October 16, 2015)
DES (2012B-0001)

Observers

  • William Wester (Run Manager)
  • Lucas Beaufore (Observer 1)
  • Ann Elliott (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Rodrigo Hernandez - operator
  • Hernan Tirado - Obs, Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57312, date 20151016, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:49 CLST     UT 16:49     SidTim 13:47
Sunset     20:00 CLST  23:00 UT   SidTim  300 deg  
Eve. -10   20:36 CLST  23:36 UT   SidTim  308 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   SidTim  313 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:16 CLST  00:16 UT   SidTim  318 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:13 CLST  02:13 UT   SidTim  348 deg  
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   SidTim   22 deg  
Morn -18   05:40 CLST  08:40 UT   SidTim   84 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:00 CLST  09:00 UT   SidTim   89 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:20 CLST  09:20 UT   SidTim   94 deg  
Sunrise    06:56 CLST  09:56 UT   SidTim  103 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 248.3, Dec -16.5 Phase: 0.246

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Beginning of night standards (if clear) [Yzirg ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/10/16 23:56'     Local time = 20:56
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Standard Obstac observation
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/10/17 09:00'     Local time = 06:00
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

The solar wind is quiet which might help with dark skies.