Project

General

Profile

10152017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58042 (starting evening of Saturday, Oct 15, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Noah Weaverdyck (run manager, observer 2)
  • Devon Hollowood (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado // Obs. Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac


mjd 58042, date 20171015, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:45 CLST     UT 19:45     SidTim 16:41
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:00 CLST  23:00 UT   19:56  299 deg  
Eve. -10   20:36 CLST  23:36 UT   20:32  308 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   20:51  313 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:15 CLST  00:15 UT   21:11  318 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   01:24   21 deg  
Moonrise   05:20 CLST  08:20 UT   05:15   79 deg  
Morn -18   05:41 CLST  08:41 UT   05:37   84 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:00 CLST  09:00 UT   05:56   89 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:20 CLST  09:20 UT   06:16   94 deg  
Sunrise    06:56 CLST  09:56 UT   06:52  103 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 162.2, Dec 9.7 Phase: 0.234

Weather Conditions

  • Clear skies until 08:00 UT, when partly cloudy
  • 30% humidity, light wind
  • Temp ~ 11 C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/15 23:36'     Local time = 20:36
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/16 09:00'     Local time = 06:00
    SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-S2    short    2017-10-13 04:48:38.706422+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-10-13 05:08:14.367250+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-10-13 23:58:51.995700+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-10-14 00:49:39.161414+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-10-14 03:13:36.457183+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-10-14 03:32:54.947818+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-10-14 03:52:19.498549+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-10-14 04:31:21.275997+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-10-14 05:12:05.457815+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-10-14 06:25:48.554292+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-10-14 06:46:18.798811+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-10-14 06:59:18.166226+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-10-14 07:22:30.707338+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-10-14 08:41:38.440673+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-10-15 03:04:58.285436+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-10-15 03:24:28.702888+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps