Project

General

Profile

10142017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58041 (starting evening of Saturday, Oct 14, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Noah Weaverdyck (run manager, observer 2)
  • Devon Hollowood (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado // Obs. Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac


mjd 58041, date 20171014, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 20:31 CLST     UT 23:31     SidTim 20:22
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:59 CLST  22:59 UT   19:51  298 deg  
Eve. -10   20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   20:27  307 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   20:46  312 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:15 CLST  00:15 UT   21:06  316 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   01:20   20 deg  
Moonrise   04:39 CLST  07:39 UT   04:31   68 deg  
Morn -18   05:42 CLST  08:42 UT   05:34   84 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:02 CLST  09:02 UT   05:53   88 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:22 CLST  09:22 UT   06:13   93 deg  
Sunrise    06:57 CLST  09:57 UT   06:49  102 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 149.2, Dec 13.4 Phase: 0.302

Weather Conditions

  • Clear skies
  • 35% humidity, light wind
  • Temp ~ 10 C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = now     Local time = 20:34
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/15 09:02'     Local time = 06:02
    E1-A                  ra 01:24:50  dec -44:33:40  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-C2    short    2017-10-10 04:47:00.205337+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-10-11 03:14:44.942281+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-10-13 04:48:38.706422+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-10-13 05:08:14.367250+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-10-13 23:58:51.995700+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-10-14 00:49:39.161414+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-10-14 03:13:36.457183+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-10-14 03:32:54.947818+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-10-14 03:52:19.498549+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-10-14 04:31:21.275997+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-10-14 05:12:05.457815+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-10-14 06:25:48.554292+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-10-14 06:46:18.798811+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-10-14 06:59:18.166226+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-10-14 07:22:30.707338+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-10-14 08:41:38.440673+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps