Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56579 (starting evening of Oct 13, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Helsby Wilcox MacCrann Honscheid / Eliot

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56579, date 20131013, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:40 CLST     UT 20:40     SidTim 17:28
Sunset     19:59 CLST  22:59 UT   SidTim  296 deg  
Eve. -10   20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   SidTim  306 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   SidTim  310 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:14 CLST  00:14 UT   SidTim  315 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   SidTim   19 deg  
Moonset    04:02 CLST  07:02 UT   SidTim   58 deg  
Morn -18   05:44 CLST  08:44 UT   SidTim   83 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:03 CLST  09:03 UT   SidTim   88 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:23 CLST  09:23 UT   SidTim   92 deg  
Sunrise    06:59 CLST  09:59 UT   SidTim  102 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 320.3, Dec -9.4 Phase: 0.663

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links Clear, multiple condors

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
  1. Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon.
  2. Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time
Prioritization for tonight's observations:
  1. Standard stars if photometric.
  2. Make sure obstac keeps filling queue and SISPI keeps loading exposures.
  3. Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
  4. Morning standards, if photometric

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:

  1. First of 2 nights of forced SN preceding shutdown.
    # Eric has prepared a back-up script '/usr/remote/user/sispi/neilsen/obs-scripts/obscript-2013-10-13T230000Z.json' in case of obstac problems.