Project

General

Profile

10122017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58039 (starting evening of Oct 12, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Devon Hollowood (run manager, observer 2)
  • Noah Weaverdyck (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado // Obs. Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac


Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:58 CLST  22:58 UT   19:42  296 deg  
Eve. -10   20:34 CLST  23:34 UT   20:18  304 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   20:37  309 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:13 CLST  00:13 UT   20:57  314 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   01:13   18 deg  
Moonrise   03:06 CLST  06:06 UT   02:50   42 deg  
Morn -18   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   05:29   82 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:04 CLST  09:04 UT   05:48   87 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:24 CLST  09:24 UT   06:08   92 deg  
Sunrise    07:00 CLST  10:00 UT   06:43  101 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 121.3, Dec 18.8 Phase: 0.447

Weather Conditions

  • Clear skies
  • 60% humidity early on, drops to 30% by the end of the night
  • Temp ~ 3 C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/12 23:34'     Local time = 20:34
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac
  • Observe TOO trigger at 05:30 local (although SNe have priority)
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/13 09:04'     Local time = 06:04
    SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 2.1
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2017-10-10 00:07:57.232401+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-10-10 00:27:14.956634+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-10-10 02:56:13.819818+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-10-10 03:15:39.913632+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-10-10 03:38:45.750507+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-10-10 04:47:00.205337+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-10-10 05:07:27.082068+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-10-10 05:27:09.810345+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-10-10 05:46:35.793941+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-10-10 06:20:49.053109+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-10-10 06:41:15.962286+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-10-10 06:54:24.427969+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-10-10 07:17:32.650941+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-10-10 08:25:44.591024+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-10-10 08:39:33.176887+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-10-11 03:14:44.942281+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps