Project

General

Profile

10112017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58038 (starting evening of Oct 11, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Devon Hollowood (run manager, observer 1)
  • Noah Weaverdyck (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado // Obs. Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac


Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:57 CLST  22:57 UT   19:37  294 deg  
Eve. -10   20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   20:13  303 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   20:32  308 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:12 CLST  00:12 UT   20:52  313 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   01:09   17 deg  
Moonrise   02:12 CLST  05:12 UT   01:52   28 deg  
Morn -18   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   05:26   82 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:05 CLST  09:05 UT   05:45   86 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:25 CLST  09:25 UT   06:05   91 deg  
Sunrise    07:01 CLST  10:01 UT   06:41  100 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 106.5, Dec 20.0 Phase: 0.523

Weather Conditions

  • Light clouds throughout night
  • Hight humidity 80%
  • Temp ~ 0 C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/11 23:33'     Local time = 20:33
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac
  • Observe TOO trigger at 05:15 local
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/12 09:05'     Local time = 06:05
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)


hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2017-10-10 00:07:57.232401+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-10-10 00:27:14.956634+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-10-10 02:56:13.819818+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-10-10 03:15:39.913632+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-10-10 03:38:45.750507+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-10-10 04:47:00.205337+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-10-10 05:07:27.082068+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-10-10 05:27:09.810345+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-10-10 05:46:35.793941+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-10-10 06:20:49.053109+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-10-10 06:41:15.962286+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-10-10 06:54:24.427969+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-10-10 07:17:32.650941+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-10-10 08:25:44.591024+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-10-10 08:39:33.176887+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-10-11 03:14:44.942281+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps