Project

General

Profile

10102018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58392 (starting evening of October 10, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Clara Martinez (observer 1)
  • Kathy Vivas (observer 2)
  • Clara Martinez (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

mjd 58402, date 20181010, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:59 CLST     UT 17:59     SidTim 14:34
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:57 CLST  22:57 UT   19:31  293 deg  
Eve. -10   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   20:07  302 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   20:26  306 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:11 CLST  00:11 UT   20:46  312 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   21:06  316 deg  
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   01:04   16 deg  
Morn -18   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   05:23   81 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:07 CLST  09:07 UT   05:42   86 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   06:02   90 deg  
Sunrise    07:02 CLST  10:02 UT   06:37   99 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 222.5, Dec -10.7 Phase: 0.130

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/10/10 23:32'     Local time = 20:32
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
    
  • If clouds remain and it doesn't rain, obtain PTC sequences. After that, if overcast, run DECal.
  • We want to do the rest of the reverberation mapping jsons today on deadman.
  • Then if seeing isn't "Bad", we do Obstac.
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing: top priority is reverberation mapping.
  • After that: if bad seeing (1.6 arcsec < seeing < 2.0) and clear: Photosweeps
  • Otherwise if bad seeing (seeing > 1.6 arcsec) and not clear, or very bad seeing (seeing > 2.0 arcsec): Narrowband
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/10/11 09:07'     Local time = 06:07
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

Priorities (highest to lowest)

Reverberation Mapping (seeing < 2.5)

Photosweeps (seeing < 2.0)

  • If RM is finished & If "Bad Seeing" and photometric and not worse than 2.0" => do Photosweep.
    Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam or if seeing is highly variable, for
    the varying aperture corrections make it difficult to get to mmag accuracy.
    One needs to run a python script at CTIO to generate the jsons.
    having done that THE Photosweep scripts can be found in
    /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
    with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json
    Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in UT (we got the z added).
    Do not bother with this is there's < 30 minutes left in the night.
    A script probably takes an hour.

Narrow Band

  • If "Bad Seeing" and not photometric, then do narrowband. Description:
    https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Narrowband_SN_imaging_program
    Narrowband scripts are in the same directory as photosweep.
    Names like SN-C3X-N964.json
    They are on the SN fields, so select the field that is closest to transit.
    These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only
    moderate, we could do these.

Put in the DQ as normal.
Obstac if seeing isn't bad.

Other Notes