Project

General

Profile

10102017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58037 (starting evening of Oct 10, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Devon Hollowood (run manager, observer 2)
  • Noah Weaverdyck (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado // Obs. Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac


Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:57 CLST  22:57 UT   19:33  293 deg  
Eve. -10   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   20:08  302 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   20:27  307 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:11 CLST  00:11 UT   20:47  312 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   01:13 CLST  04:13 UT   00:49   12 deg  
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   01:05   16 deg  
Morn -18   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   05:23   81 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:06 CLST  09:06 UT   05:42   86 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   06:02   90 deg  
Sunrise    07:02 CLST  10:02 UT   06:38  100 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 91.4, Dec 19.9 Phase: 0.601

Weather Conditions

  • Clear all night
  • Humidity 60-70%
  • Warmer Temp ~3-5C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/10 23:32'     Local time = 20:32
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
    
  • Obstac
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/11 09:06'     Local time = 06:06
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)


hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-C3    long_i    2017-10-04 05:40:26.145994+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-10-10 00:07:57.232401+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-10-10 00:27:14.956634+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-10-10 02:56:13.819818+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-10-10 03:15:39.913632+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-10-10 03:38:45.750507+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-10-10 04:47:00.205337+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-10-10 05:07:27.082068+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-10-10 05:27:09.810345+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-10-10 05:46:35.793941+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-10-10 06:20:49.053109+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-10-10 06:41:15.962286+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-10-10 06:54:24.427969+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-10-10 07:17:32.650941+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-10-10 08:25:44.591024+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-10-10 08:39:33.176887+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps