Project

General

Profile

10102016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57672 (starting evening of Mon October 10, 2016)

DES observes first half night.

Observers

  • Doug Tucker (Obs1)
  • Mandeep Gill (Obs2)
  • Mandeep Gill (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff
  • Hernan Tirado Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac
mjd 57672, date 20161010, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 20:21 CLST     UT 23:21     SidTim 19:58
Sunset     19:57 CLST  22:57 UT   SidTim  294 deg  
Eve. -10   20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   SidTim  302 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   SidTim  307 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:11 CLST  00:11 UT   SidTim  312 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   SidTim   16 deg  
Moonset    03:55 CLST  06:55 UT   SidTim   53 deg  
Morn -18   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   SidTim   81 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:06 CLST  09:06 UT   SidTim   86 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim   91 deg  
Sunrise    07:02 CLST  10:02 UT   SidTim  100 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 312.8, Dec -14.3 Phase: 0.636

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
  • Half night of DES observing in Y4

  • Evening standards: [Yzirg ordered scripts except for calspec]
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
    
  • obstac
  • Midnight standard: [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2016/10/11 04:29'     Local time = 01:29
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    

Quote of the day: "And the wheeling stars begin to set on our penultimate night of observing high on Cerro Tololo."

Other Notes