Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56576 (starting evening of Oct 10, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Helsby Wilcox MacCrann Honscheid / Eliot

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56576, date 20131010, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:17 CLST     UT 22:17     SidTim 18:53
Sunset     19:57 CLST  22:57 UT   SidTim  293 deg  
Eve. -10   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   SidTim  302 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   SidTim  307 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:11 CLST  00:11 UT   SidTim  312 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   SidTim   16 deg  
Moonset    01:41 CLST  04:41 UT   SidTim   19 deg  
Morn -18   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   SidTim   81 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:06 CLST  09:06 UT   SidTim   86 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim   90 deg  
Sunrise    07:02 CLST  10:02 UT   SidTim  100 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 277.3, Dec -18.1 Phase: 0.436

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links Clear

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
  1. Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon.
  2. Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time
Prioritization for tonight's observations:
  1. Standard stars if photometric.
  2. Make sure obstac keeps filling queue and SISPI keeps loading exposures.
  3. Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
  4. Morning standards, if photometric

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:
  1. New obstac version.
  2. If seeing is good, we expect tiling 1 z-band in first half of night.