Project

General

Profile

10092017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58036 (starting evening of Oct 09, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Devon Hollowood (run manager, observer 2)
  • Noah Weaverdyck (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado // Obs. Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac


Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:56 CLST  22:56 UT   19:28  292 deg  
Eve. -10   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   20:04  301 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   20:23  306 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:10 CLST  00:10 UT   20:42  310 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:10 CLST  03:10 UT   23:42  356 deg  
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   01:02   16 deg  
Morn -18   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   05:21   80 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:08 CLST  09:08 UT   05:40   85 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   06:00   90 deg  
Sunrise    07:03 CLST  10:03 UT   06:35   99 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 76.2, Dec 18.7 Phase: 0.679

Weather Conditions

  • Cloudy until ~23:00
  • Variable humidity 40-70%
  • Warmer Temp ~5-7C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Supernova fields end-of-the-night priorities: Regular SNe fields > Low-Z SNe > Standard Stars
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/09 23:32'     Local time = 20:32
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
    
  • Obstac
  • Morning standards
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)


hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E2    short    2017-09-25 01:30:25.771474+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-09-25 06:43:07.062225+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-09-29 00:54:52.068500+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-09-30 03:33:20.430356+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-09-30 03:54:29.071906+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-10-02 04:35:23.022033+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-10-02 05:29:37.705266+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-10-02 06:38:20.697919+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-10-02 07:13:34.383093+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-10-02 07:26:30.906438+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-10-03 03:51:03.226108+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-10-03 08:13:13.612852+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-10-03 08:33:30.910979+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-10-04 03:27:32.830464+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-10-04 03:50:36.224403+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-10-04 05:40:26.145994+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps