Project

General

Profile

10092016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57671 (starting evening of Sun October 9, 2016)

DES observes first half night.

Observers

  • Doug Tucker (Obs1)
  • Mandeep Gill (Obs2)
  • Mandeep Gill (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff
  • Manuel Hernandez Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac
mjd 57671, date 20161009, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 20:12 CLST     UT 23:12     SidTim 19:45
Sunset     19:56 CLST  22:56 UT   SidTim  292 deg  
Eve. -10   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   SidTim  301 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   SidTim  306 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:11 CLST  00:11 UT   SidTim  311 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   SidTim   16 deg  
Moonset    03:10 CLST  06:10 UT   SidTim   41 deg  
Morn -18   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   SidTim   80 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:07 CLST  09:07 UT   SidTim   85 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim   90 deg  
Sunrise    07:03 CLST  10:03 UT   SidTim   99 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 299.4, Dec -16.5 Phase: 0.566

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
  • Half night of DES observing in Y4

  • Evening standards: [Yzirg ordered scripts except for calspec]
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
    
  • obstac
  • Midnight standard: [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2016/10/08 04:30'     Local time = 01:30
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    

Quote of the day: "Grasshoppers, Spiders, Vizcacha - what next, Yeti?"

Other Notes