Project

General

Profile

10072016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57669 (starting evening of October 7, 2016)

DES observes first half night.

Observers

  • Mandeep Gill (Obs1)
  • Devon Hollowood (Obs2)
  • Devon Hollowood (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff
  • Manuel Hernandez Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac
mjd 57669, date 20161007, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:26 CLST     UT 18:26     SidTim 14:51
Sunset     19:55 CLST  22:55 UT   SidTim  290 deg
Eve. -10   20:30 CLST  23:30 UT   SidTim  299 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:50 CLST  23:50 UT   SidTim  304 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:09 CLST  00:09 UT   SidTim  308 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   SidTim   14 deg
Moonset    01:35 CLST  04:35 UT   SidTim   15 deg
Morn -18   05:51 CLST  08:51 UT   SidTim   79 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:10 CLST  09:10 UT   SidTim   84 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   SidTim   89 deg
Sunrise    07:05 CLST  10:05 UT   SidTim   98 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 273.3, Dec -18.1 Phase: 0.430

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
  • Half night of DES observing in Y4

  • Evening standards: [Yzirg ordered scripts except for calspec]
    UT Date = '2016/10/07 23:30'     Local time = 20:30
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
    
  • obstac
  • Midnight standard: [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2016/10/08 04:30'     Local time = 01:30
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    

Quote of the day: "I'm stepping through the door / and the stars look very different today"

Other Notes