Project

General

Profile

10072015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57303 (starting evening of Oct 7, 2015)

DES (2012B-0001)

Observers

  • Cristina Furlanetto (Run Manager)
  • Suk Sien Tie (Observer 1; Run Manager IT)
  • Tim Abbott (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Rodrigo Hernandez- operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57303, date 20151007, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 01:29 CLST     UT 04:29     SidTim 00:51
Sunset     19:55 CLST  22:55 UT   SidTim  289 deg  
Eve. -10   20:30 CLST  23:30 UT   SidTim  298 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:49 CLST  23:49 UT   SidTim  303 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:08 CLST  00:08 UT   SidTim  308 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   SidTim   13 deg  
Moonrise   04:43 CLST  07:43 UT   SidTim   61 deg  
Morn -18   05:52 CLST  08:52 UT   SidTim   78 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:11 CLST  09:11 UT   SidTim   83 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   SidTim   88 deg  
Sunrise    07:06 CLST  10:06 UT   SidTim   97 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 144.2, Dec 11.3 Phase: 0.289

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Beginning of night standards (if clear) [Yzirg ordered scripts]
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
  • Obstac
  • ToO (2015B-0187)
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

Cristina, Suk Sien Tie, David F., Michael, Manuel

  • Camera and Telescope
    • All okak; no issues.
  • Last Night
    • Started flats late last night, then opened late due to clouds. * Beginning and end of night spoiled by clouds, middle good, estimated 40%-50% good data.
  • DES-DM and QD
    • All data received and processed, processing all caught up. About 50% of data from last night was goo, previous nights were worse.
  • TOO
    • Observers have GW json files, and know what to do with them.
  • Forecast
    • No SN are on deadman, and most of the night will be dark. So, obstac will work on g, r, and i wide-feild until the GW TOO, weather permitting.

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observed?
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-10-03 08:38:23.101022+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-10-04 03:45:51.122365+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-10-06 00:47:06.846392+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-10-06 01:06:31.943595+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-10-06 06:43:15.886599+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-10-06 07:02:47.062806+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-10-06 07:26:00.156639+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-10-07 03:18:28.892286+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-10-07 05:48:26.222175+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-10-07 06:01:31.886045+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-10-07 06:24:47.843580+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-10-07 06:58:50.419871+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-10-08 03:05:00.953030+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-10-08 03:38:33.807873+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-10-08 03:59:18.564286+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-10-08 04:18:49.033029+00:00