Project

General

Profile

10062016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57668 (starting evening of October 6, 2016)

DES observes first half night.

Observers

  • Mandeep Gill (Obs1)
  • Devon Hollowood (Obs2)
  • Devon Hollowood (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff
  • Manuel Hernandez Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac
mjd 57668, date 20161006, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:59 CLST     UT 17:59     SidTim 14:20
Sunset     19:54 CLST  22:54 UT   SidTim  289 deg
Eve. -10   20:30 CLST  23:30 UT   SidTim  298 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:49 CLST  23:49 UT   SidTim  302 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:08 CLST  00:08 UT   SidTim  307 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:45 CLST  03:45 UT   SidTim    2 deg
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   SidTim   13 deg
Morn -18   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   SidTim   78 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:11 CLST  09:11 UT   SidTim   83 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   SidTim   88 deg
Sunrise    07:06 CLST  10:06 UT   SidTim   97 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 260.7, Dec -17.5 Phase: 0.364

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
  • Half night of DES observing in Y4

  • Evening standards: [Yzirg ordered scripts except for calspec]
    UT Date = '2016/10/06 23:30'     Local time = 20:30
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
    
  • obstac
  • Midnight standard: [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2016/10/07 04:30'     Local time = 01:30
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    

Quote of the day: "Here am I sitting in my tin can / far above the world"

Other Notes