Project

General

Profile

10032017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58028 (starting evening of Oct 03, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Sahar Allam (run manager, observer 2)
  • Doug Tucker (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernández -Obs, Support
  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac


mjd 58030, date 20171003, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:47 CLST     UT 20:47     SidTim 16:55
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:52 CLST  22:52 UT   19:01  285 deg
Eve. -10   20:28 CLST  23:28 UT   19:36  294 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   19:55  299 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:06 CLST  00:06 UT   20:14  304 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:31 CLST  04:31 UT   00:40   10 deg
Morn -18   05:57 CLST  08:57 UT   05:05   76 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:15 CLST  09:15 UT   05:23   81 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:35 CLST  09:35 UT   05:43   86 deg
Moonset    06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   05:50   88 deg
Sunrise    07:10 CLST  10:10 UT   06:19   95 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 352.3, Dec -5.4 Phase: 0.893

Weather Conditions

  • Expected high clouds with 90% covered over the full night.
  • Variable humidity 20-40%
  • Warmer Temp ~15-10C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/03 23:28'     Local time = 20:28
    E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secs 1.0
    
    
  • Obstac
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/04 09:15'     Local time = 06:15
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)


16 rows returned

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E2    short    2017-09-25 01:30:25.771474+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-09-25 06:43:07.062225+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-09-29 00:54:52.068500+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-09-30 03:34:59.535754+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-09-30 03:54:29.071906+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-09-30 04:25:23.715595+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-09-30 04:48:29.787642+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-09-30 05:57:14.359201+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-10-02 04:35:23.022033+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-10-02 05:29:37.705266+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-10-02 06:38:20.697919+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-10-02 07:13:34.383093+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-10-02 07:26:30.906438+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-10-03 03:52:42.905272+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-10-03 08:13:13.612852+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-10-03 08:33:30.910979+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps