Project

General

Profile

10022017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58029 (starting evening of Oct 02, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Sahar Allam (run manager, observer 2)
  • Douglas Tucker (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac


ephem
mjd 58029, date 20171002, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:28 CLST     UT 19:28     SidTim 15:33
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:52 CLST  22:52 UT   18:56  284 deg
Eve. -10   20:27 CLST  23:27 UT   19:31  293 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   19:50  298 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:05 CLST  00:05 UT   20:09  302 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:32 CLST  04:32 UT   00:36    9 deg
Morn -18   05:58 CLST  08:58 UT   05:03   76 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonset    06:04 CLST  09:04 UT   05:08   77 deg
Morn -14   06:16 CLST  09:16 UT   05:21   80 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:36 CLST  09:36 UT   05:41   85 deg
Sunrise    07:12 CLST  10:12 UT   06:16   94 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 339.4, Dec -9.5 Phase: 0.826

Weather Conditions

  • Partly cloudy in the afternoon, with high clouds till 21pm LT then low/clear till 4:00am LT,
    partly cloudy conditions after that.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg), (in case of u-band observations please use Yzirgu)
    
    UT Date = '2017/10/02 23:27'     Local time = 20:27
    E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.8
    E9-A                  ra 22:45:37  dec -44:22:46  secz 1.3  
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
    
    
  • Obstac
  • Precedence: Normal SN > standard stars
  • Morning standards, (grizY), (in case of u-band observations please use ugrizY)
    
    UT Date = '2017/10/03 09:16'     Local time = 06:16
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)


hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2017-09-29 00:54:52.068500+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-09-30 01:04:05.144414+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-09-30 03:34:59.535754+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-09-30 03:54:29.071906+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-09-30 04:27:05.420019+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-09-30 04:50:38.396740+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-09-30 05:59:22.774338+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-09-30 09:04:32.147055+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-10-02 03:55:34.047227+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-10-02 04:14:56.438397+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-10-02 04:35:23.022033+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-10-02 04:55:06.428787+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-10-02 05:29:37.705266+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-10-02 06:38:20.697919+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-10-02 07:13:34.383093+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-10-02 07:26:30.906438+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps