Project

General

Profile

09302018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58392 (starting evening of September 30, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Erika Wagoner (observer 1)
  • Anqi Chen (observer 2)
  • Devon Hollwoood (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

mjd 58392, date 20180930, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:38 CLST     UT 19:38     SidTim 15:33
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:50 CLST  22:50 UT   18:46  282 deg
Eve. -10   20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   19:21  290 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:44 CLST  23:44 UT   19:40  295 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:04 CLST  00:04 UT   19:59  300 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   01:19 CLST  04:19 UT   00:15    4 deg
Midpoint   01:32 CLST  04:32 UT   00:28    7 deg
Morn -18   06:01 CLST  09:01 UT   04:57   74 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:19 CLST  09:19 UT   05:15   79 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:39 CLST  09:39 UT   05:35   84 deg
Sunrise    07:14 CLST  10:14 UT   06:10   92 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 82.6, Dec 20.4 Phase: 0.598

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Standards
  • If clouds remain, run DECal
Standards for evening twilight

UT Date = '2018/09/30 23:26'     Local time = 20:26
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • After that: if bad seeing (1.6 arcsec < seeing < 2.0) and clear: Photosweeps
  • Otherwise if bad seeing (seeing > 1.6 arcsec) and not clear, or very bad seeing (seeing > 2.0 arcsec): Narrowband (X3 or C3)
  • Call Eric if there are problems
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for morning twilight 

UT Date = '2018/10/01 09:19'     Local time = 06:19
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

Other Notes

Priorities (highest to lowest)

Obstac (seeing < 1.6)
  • gri to start. zY when the Moon come up.

Reverberation Mapping (seeing < 2.5)
  • See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Y6_reverberation_mapping_program.
  • The reverberation scripts use SN field pointings, and can be found in /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts with names like: reverb_SN-C1.json. About 10 minutes each. If seeing improves, let the individual script finish but don't load the next. Pick the one closest to setting transit, except if it's late and E1 or E2 is nearing airmass of 1.5.
  • About 10 min each

Photosweeps (seeing < 2.0)
  • Observers generate the photo-z jsons run the photo-z script. It's at /usr/remote/user/sispi/y6_global_photometry_program/photosweep.sh with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in UT (we got the z added).
  • Do not bother with this is there's < 30 minutes left in the night.
  • Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam.
  • Probably they take an hour

Narrow Band
  • Narrowband scripts are in the directory: /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
  • Names like SN-C3X-N964.json
  • Information about the transit time of thse fields can be found at http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/ .
  • They are on the SN fields, so select the field that is closest to transit.
  • These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only moderate, we could do these.