Project

General

Profile

09302017 » History » Version 1

Douglas Tucker, 09/30/2017 01:39 PM

1 1 Douglas Tucker
h1. 09302017
2 1 Douglas Tucker
3 1 Douglas Tucker
h2. Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58027 (starting evening of September 30, 2017)
4 1 Douglas Tucker
5 1 Douglas Tucker
Full night for DES
6 1 Douglas Tucker
7 1 Douglas Tucker
h3. Observers
8 1 Douglas Tucker
9 1 Douglas Tucker
* Douglas Tucker (run manager, observer 2)
10 1 Douglas Tucker
* Sahar Allam (observer 1)
11 1 Douglas Tucker
12 1 Douglas Tucker
h3. CTIO Staff
13 1 Douglas Tucker
14 1 Douglas Tucker
* Hernan Tirado -  Obs. Support
15 1 Douglas Tucker
* Claudio Aguilera - operator
16 1 Douglas Tucker
* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
17 1 Douglas Tucker
18 1 Douglas Tucker
h3. Almanac
19 1 Douglas Tucker
20 1 Douglas Tucker
<pre>
21 1 Douglas Tucker
mjd 58027, date 20170930, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
22 1 Douglas Tucker
Current local time 15:33 CLST     UT 18:33     SidTim 14:30
23 1 Douglas Tucker
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
24 1 Douglas Tucker
Sunset     19:51 CLST  22:51 UT   18:47  282 deg
25 1 Douglas Tucker
Eve. -10   20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   19:22  290 deg  Zeropoint; standards
26 1 Douglas Tucker
Eve. -14   20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   19:41  295 deg  Begin obstac
27 1 Douglas Tucker
Eve. -18   21:04 CLST  00:04 UT   20:00  300 deg  Last chance standards
28 1 Douglas Tucker
Midpoint   01:32 CLST  04:32 UT   00:29    7 deg
29 1 Douglas Tucker
Moonset    04:44 CLST  07:44 UT   03:40   55 deg
30 1 Douglas Tucker
Morn -18   06:01 CLST  09:01 UT   04:57   74 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
31 1 Douglas Tucker
Morn -14   06:19 CLST  09:19 UT   05:15   79 deg  End obstac; begin standards
32 1 Douglas Tucker
Morn -10   06:39 CLST  09:39 UT   05:35   84 deg
33 1 Douglas Tucker
Sunrise    07:14 CLST  10:14 UT   06:10   92 deg
34 1 Douglas Tucker
Moon position (deg): RA 313.7, Dec -15.9 Phase: 0.693
35 1 Douglas Tucker
</pre>
36 1 Douglas Tucker
37 1 Douglas Tucker
h3. Weather Conditions
38 1 Douglas Tucker
39 1 Douglas Tucker
* Heavy clouds/nearly overcast in the afternoon. Forecast for partly cloudy conditions during the night.
40 1 Douglas Tucker
* "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
41 1 Douglas Tucker
42 1 Douglas Tucker
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
43 1 Douglas Tucker
44 1 Douglas Tucker
* Evening standards
45 1 Douglas Tucker
<pre>
46 1 Douglas Tucker
UT Date = '2017/09/30 23:26'     Local time = 20:26
47 1 Douglas Tucker
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
48 1 Douglas Tucker
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
49 1 Douglas Tucker
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
50 1 Douglas Tucker
</pre>
51 1 Douglas Tucker
52 1 Douglas Tucker
* Obstac
53 1 Douglas Tucker
54 1 Douglas Tucker
* TOO at 9:30UT (36 minutes, sans slew)
55 1 Douglas Tucker
56 1 Douglas Tucker
* Low-z SN just before standards (5 minutes, sans slew).
57 1 Douglas Tucker
** Precedence:  Normal SN > low-z SN > standard stars
58 1 Douglas Tucker
59 1 Douglas Tucker
* Morning standards
60 1 Douglas Tucker
<pre>
61 1 Douglas Tucker
UT Date = '2017/10/01 09:01'     Local time = 06:01
62 1 Douglas Tucker
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
63 1 Douglas Tucker
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
64 1 Douglas Tucker
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
65 1 Douglas Tucker
</pre>
66 1 Douglas Tucker
67 1 Douglas Tucker
h3. When were the last SN fields observed?
68 1 Douglas Tucker
69 1 Douglas Tucker
(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)
70 1 Douglas Tucker
71 1 Douglas Tucker
<pre>
72 1 Douglas Tucker
hex_name 	seqtype 	last_complete
73 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-X3	long_i	2017-09-25 04:02:23.181664+00:00
74 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-C3	long_g	2017-09-25 04:37:16.584066+00:00
75 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-C3	long_r	2017-09-25 04:50:20.212861+00:00
76 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-S1	short	2017-09-25 06:59:11.256632+00:00
77 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-E1	short	2017-09-29 00:54:52.068500+00:00
78 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-E2	short	2017-09-30 01:04:05.144414+00:00
79 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-X1	short	2017-09-30 03:34:59.535754+00:00
80 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-X2	short	2017-09-30 03:54:29.071906+00:00
81 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-X3	long_g	2017-09-30 04:13:58.668865+00:00
82 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-X3	long_r	2017-09-30 04:27:05.420019+00:00
83 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-X3	long_z	2017-09-30 04:50:38.396740+00:00
84 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-C3	long_i	2017-09-30 05:59:22.774338+00:00
85 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-C3	long_z	2017-09-30 06:33:38.905830+00:00
86 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-C2	short	2017-09-30 07:41:34.618659+00:00
87 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-C1	short	2017-09-30 08:01:32.885888+00:00
88 1 Douglas Tucker
SN-S2	short	2017-09-30 09:04:32.147055+00:00
89 1 Douglas Tucker
</pre>
90 1 Douglas Tucker
91 1 Douglas Tucker
h3. Useful links
92 1 Douglas Tucker
93 1 Douglas Tucker
"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
94 1 Douglas Tucker
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php