Project

General

Profile

09302017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58027 (starting evening of September 30, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Douglas Tucker (run manager, observer 2)
  • Sahar Allam (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58027, date 20170930, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:33 CLST     UT 18:33     SidTim 14:30
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:51 CLST  22:51 UT   18:47  282 deg
Eve. -10   20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   19:22  290 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   19:41  295 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:04 CLST  00:04 UT   20:00  300 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:32 CLST  04:32 UT   00:29    7 deg
Moonset    04:44 CLST  07:44 UT   03:40   55 deg
Morn -18   06:01 CLST  09:01 UT   04:57   74 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:19 CLST  09:19 UT   05:15   79 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:39 CLST  09:39 UT   05:35   84 deg
Sunrise    07:14 CLST  10:14 UT   06:10   92 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 313.7, Dec -15.9 Phase: 0.693

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/09/30 23:26'     Local time = 20:26
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
    
  • Obstac
  • TOO at 9:30UT (36 minutes, sans slew)
  • Low-z SN just before standards (5 minutes, sans slew).
    • Precedence: Normal SN > low-z SN > standard stars
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/10/01 09:01'     Local time = 06:01
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-X3    long_i    2017-09-25 04:02:23.181664+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-09-25 04:37:16.584066+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-09-25 04:50:20.212861+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-09-25 06:59:11.256632+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-09-29 00:54:52.068500+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-09-30 01:04:05.144414+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-09-30 03:34:59.535754+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-09-30 03:54:29.071906+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-09-30 04:13:58.668865+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-09-30 04:27:05.420019+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-09-30 04:50:38.396740+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-09-30 05:59:22.774338+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-09-30 06:33:38.905830+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-09-30 07:41:34.618659+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-09-30 08:01:32.885888+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-09-30 09:04:32.147055+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps