Project

General

Profile

09292018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58391 (starting evening of September 29, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Erika Wagoner (observer 1)
  • Anqi Chen (observer 2)
  • Devon Hollwoood (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

mjd 58391, date 20180929, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:41 CLST     UT 22:41     SidTim 18:33
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:50 CLST  22:50 UT   18:41  280 deg  
Eve. -10   20:25 CLST  23:25 UT   19:16  289 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:44 CLST  23:44 UT   19:35  294 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:03 CLST  00:03 UT   19:54  298 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:18 CLST  03:18 UT   23:09  347 deg  
Midpoint   01:33 CLST  04:33 UT   00:24    6 deg  
Morn -18   06:03 CLST  09:03 UT   04:54   74 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:21 CLST  09:21 UT   05:12   78 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:41 CLST  09:41 UT   05:32   83 deg  
Sunrise    07:16 CLST  10:16 UT   06:07   92 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 68.3, Dec 18.2 Phase: 0.671

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Standards
  • If clouds remain, run DECal
Standards for evening twilight

UT Date = '2018/09/29 23:25'     Local time = 20:25
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • After that: if bad seeing (1.6 arcsec < seeing < 2.0) and clear: Photosweeps
  • Otherwise if bad seeing (seeing > 1.6 arcsec) and not clear, or very bad seeing (seeing > 2.0 arcsec): Narrowband (X3 or C3)
  • Call Eric if there are problems
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for morning twilight 

UT Date = '2018/09/30 09:21'     Local time = 06:21
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

Other Notes

Bad seeing Plan. (from Tom's email re: 4pm meeting)

Bad Seeing definition is same as yesterday. If we get "bad seeing" conditions tonight, the top priority goes to Reverberation Mapping Scripts max seeing 2.5" (https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Y6_reverberation_mapping_program).

The reverberation scripts use SN field pointings, and can be found in /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts with names like: reverb_SN-C1.json. About 10 minutes each. If seeing improves, let the individual script finish but don't load the next. Pick the one closest to setting transit, except if it's late and E1 or E2 is nearing airmass of 1.5.

If still bad seeing after these are all done, then photosweep and narrowband.