Project

General

Profile

09292017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58026 (starting evening of September 29, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Douglas Tucker (run manager, observer 2)
  • Sahar Allam (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

Current local time 14:59 CLST     UT 17:59     SidTim 13:51
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:50 CLST  22:50 UT   18:42  280 deg
Eve. -10   20:25 CLST  23:25 UT   19:18  290 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:44 CLST  23:44 UT   19:36  294 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:03 CLST  00:03 UT   19:56  299 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:33 CLST  04:33 UT   00:25    6 deg
Moonset    04:01 CLST  07:01 UT   02:53   43 deg
Morn -18   06:02 CLST  09:02 UT   04:55   74 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:20 CLST  09:20 UT   05:13   78 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:40 CLST  09:40 UT   05:33   83 deg
Sunrise    07:15 CLST  10:15 UT   06:08   92 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 300.9, Dec -17.8 Phase: 0.627

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/09/29 23:25'     Local time = 20:25
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
    
  • Obstac
  • TOO at 9:30UT (36 minutes, sans slew)
  • Low-z SN just before standards (5 minutes, sans slew).
    • Precedence: Normal SN > low-z SN > standard stars
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/09/30 09:20'     Local time = 06:20
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-C2    short   2017-09-23 04:39:42.590900+00:00
SN-C1    short   2017-09-23 05:02:33.863254+00:00
SN-X3    long_z  2017-09-23 05:20:05.578364+00:00
SN-C3    long_i  2017-09-23 06:28:46.008599+00:00
SN-C3    long_z  2017-09-23 07:41:46.124061+00:00
SN-X3    long_i  2017-09-25 04:02:23.181664+00:00
SN-C3    long_g  2017-09-25 04:37:16.584066+00:00
SN-C3    long_r  2017-09-25 04:50:20.212861+00:00
SN-S2    short   2017-09-25 06:39:43.056782+00:00
SN-S1    short   2017-09-25 06:59:11.256632+00:00
SN-E1    short   2017-09-29 00:54:52.068500+00:00
SN-E2    short   2017-09-29 01:29:57.089404+00:00
SN-X1    short   2017-09-29 03:44:11.044402+00:00
SN-X2    short   2017-09-29 04:22:44.295116+00:00
SN-X3    long_g  2017-09-29 05:02:20.636814+00:00
SN-X3    long_r  2017-09-29 05:15:50.298355+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps