Project

General

Profile

09282018 » History » Version 2

Devon Hollowood, 09/28/2018 02:32 PM

1 1 Devon Hollowood
h1. 09282018
2 1 Devon Hollowood
3 1 Devon Hollowood
h2. Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58390 (starting evening of September 28, 2018)
4 1 Devon Hollowood
5 1 Devon Hollowood
DES has the second half of the night. 
6 1 Devon Hollowood
7 1 Devon Hollowood
h3. Observers
8 1 Devon Hollowood
9 1 Devon Hollowood
* Erika Wagoner (observer 1)
10 1 Devon Hollowood
* Anqi Chen (observer 2)
11 1 Devon Hollowood
* Devon Hollwoood (Run Manager)
12 1 Devon Hollowood
13 1 Devon Hollowood
h3. CTIO Staff
14 1 Devon Hollowood
15 1 Devon Hollowood
* Claudio Aguilera
16 1 Devon Hollowood
* Jacqueline Seron
17 1 Devon Hollowood
* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
18 1 Devon Hollowood
19 1 Devon Hollowood
h3. Almanac
20 1 Devon Hollowood
21 1 Devon Hollowood
<pre>
22 2 Devon Hollowood
mjd 58390, date 20180928, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
23 2 Devon Hollowood
Current local time 16:31 CLST     UT 19:31     SidTim 15:19
24 2 Devon Hollowood
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
25 2 Devon Hollowood
Sunset     19:49 CLST  22:49 UT   18:37  279 deg  
26 2 Devon Hollowood
Eve. -10   20:24 CLST  23:24 UT   19:12  288 deg  Zeropoint; standards
27 2 Devon Hollowood
Eve. -14   20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   19:31  293 deg  Begin obstac
28 2 Devon Hollowood
Eve. -18   21:02 CLST  00:02 UT   19:50  298 deg  Last chance standards
29 2 Devon Hollowood
Moonrise   23:16 CLST  02:16 UT   22:04  331 deg  
30 2 Devon Hollowood
Midpoint   01:33 CLST  04:33 UT   00:21    5 deg  
31 2 Devon Hollowood
Morn -18   06:04 CLST  09:04 UT   04:52   73 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
32 2 Devon Hollowood
Morn -14   06:22 CLST  09:22 UT   05:09   77 deg  End obstac; begin standards
33 2 Devon Hollowood
Morn -10   06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   05:29   82 deg  
34 2 Devon Hollowood
Sunrise    07:17 CLST  10:17 UT   06:04   91 deg  
35 2 Devon Hollowood
Moon position (deg): RA 54.5, Dec 15.0 Phase: 0.740
36 1 Devon Hollowood
</pre>
37 1 Devon Hollowood
38 1 Devon Hollowood
h3. Weather Conditions
39 1 Devon Hollowood
40 1 Devon Hollowood
*  Cloudy, with clouds expected through the night.
41 1 Devon Hollowood
*  Light wind predicted.
42 1 Devon Hollowood
* "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
43 1 Devon Hollowood
44 1 Devon Hollowood
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
45 1 Devon Hollowood
46 1 Devon Hollowood
* DES full night
47 1 Devon Hollowood
* Standards
48 1 Devon Hollowood
* If clouds remain, run DECal
49 1 Devon Hollowood
50 1 Devon Hollowood
<pre>
51 1 Devon Hollowood
Standards for evening twilight
52 1 Devon Hollowood
53 2 Devon Hollowood
UT Date = '2018/09/28 23:24'     Local time = 20:24
54 2 Devon Hollowood
E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.7
55 2 Devon Hollowood
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
56 2 Devon Hollowood
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
57 1 Devon Hollowood
</pre>
58 1 Devon Hollowood
59 1 Devon Hollowood
* Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
60 1 Devon Hollowood
61 1 Devon Hollowood
* If bad seeing (1.6 arcsec < seeing < 2.0) and clear: Photosweeps
62 1 Devon Hollowood
63 1 Devon Hollowood
* If bad seeing (seeing > 1.6 arcsec) and not clear, or very bad seeing (seeing > 2.0 arcsec): Narrowband (X3 or C3)
64 1 Devon Hollowood
65 1 Devon Hollowood
* If seeing good but cloudy: obstac
66 1 Devon Hollowood
67 1 Devon Hollowood
* Call Eric if there are problems
68 1 Devon Hollowood
69 1 Devon Hollowood
* Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
70 1 Devon Hollowood
71 1 Devon Hollowood
<pre>
72 1 Devon Hollowood
Standards for morning twilight 
73 1 Devon Hollowood
74 2 Devon Hollowood
UT Date = '2018/09/29 09:22'     Local time = 06:22
75 2 Devon Hollowood
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
76 2 Devon Hollowood
E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.6
77 2 Devon Hollowood
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
78 1 Devon Hollowood
</pre>
79 1 Devon Hollowood
80 1 Devon Hollowood
h3. Useful links
81 1 Devon Hollowood
82 1 Devon Hollowood
"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
83 1 Devon Hollowood
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
84 1 Devon Hollowood
85 1 Devon Hollowood
h2. Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting
86 1 Devon Hollowood
87 1 Devon Hollowood
88 1 Devon Hollowood
h2. Other Notes
89 1 Devon Hollowood
90 1 Devon Hollowood
h3. Detailed plan for bad seeing:
91 1 Devon Hollowood
92 1 Devon Hollowood
* Run Obstac if not bad seeing.
93 1 Devon Hollowood
* Start w/ gr for a very little while, then zY, then only Y
94 1 Devon Hollowood
95 1 Devon Hollowood
h3. Definition of "Bad Seeing":
96 1 Devon Hollowood
97 1 Devon Hollowood
If the PSF projected to i-band @ zenith > 1.1", Obstac will be queueing g-band exposures close to zenith (Y-band if it's Moony). The PSF isn't as good with g-band as the other filters. Use the KentOols report to watch the seeing on indvidual exposures if we get PSF > 1.6" for several in a row and there isn't any obvious likelihood of improvement to better than 1.6" in the next 10 minutes then we call the time "bad seeing".
98 1 Devon Hollowood
99 1 Devon Hollowood
h3. Plan:
100 1 Devon Hollowood
101 1 Devon Hollowood
Tonight if the conditions reach "bad seeing" we do either "photosweep" or "narrow band" scripts. Photosweep has higher priority than "narrowband".  If "Bad Seeing" and photometric and not worse than 2.0" => Photosweep.  If "Bad Seeing" and not photometric, then do narrowband.
102 1 Devon Hollowood
103 1 Devon Hollowood
Observers generate the photo-z jsons run the photo-z script.  It's at /usr/remote/user/sispi/y6_global_photometry_program/photosweep.sh with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in UT (we got the z added).
104 1 Devon Hollowood
105 1 Devon Hollowood
* Do not bother with this is there's < 30 minutes left in the night.
106 1 Devon Hollowood
* Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam.
107 1 Devon Hollowood
* Require Bad Seeing, but PSF <2 arcsec. If seeing is worse or highly variable,
108 1 Devon Hollowood
 the varying aperture corrections make it difficult to get to mmag accuracy. Probably they take an hour.
109 1 Devon Hollowood
* Narrowband scripts are in the directory: /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
110 1 Devon Hollowood
* Names like SN-C3X-N964.json
111 1 Devon Hollowood
* Information about the transit time of thse fields can be found at http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/ .
112 1 Devon Hollowood
* They are on the SN fields, so select the field that is closest to transit.
113 1 Devon Hollowood
* These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only moderate, we could do these.