Project

General

Profile

09272018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58024 (starting evening of September 27, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Masao Sako (run manager, observer 2)
  • Nikolay Kuropatkin (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58025, date 20170928, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:54 CLST     UT 18:54     SidTim 14:43
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:49 CLST  22:49 UT   18:38  280 deg  
Eve. -10   20:24 CLST  23:24 UT   19:13  288 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   19:32  293 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:02 CLST  00:02 UT   19:51  298 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:33 CLST  04:33 UT   00:22    6 deg  
Moonset    03:16 CLST  06:16 UT   02:04   31 deg  
Morn -18   06:04 CLST  09:04 UT   04:52   73 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:21 CLST  09:21 UT   05:10   78 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:41 CLST  09:41 UT   05:30   82 deg  
Sunrise    07:16 CLST  10:16 UT   06:05   91 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 288.2, Dec -18.9 Phase: 0.560

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/09/28 23:24'     Local time = 20:24
    E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
    
  • Obstac
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/09/29 09:21'     Local time = 06:21
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X1    short    2017-09-23 04:00:12.752077+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-09-23 04:19:30.316403+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-09-23 04:39:42.590900+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-09-23 04:59:09.625806+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-09-23 05:20:05.578364+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-09-23 06:28:46.008599+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-09-23 07:04:03.926700+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-09-23 07:17:11.429243+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-09-23 07:41:46.124061+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-09-25 01:07:42.940586+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-09-25 01:27:01.437056+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-09-25 04:02:23.181664+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-09-25 04:37:16.584066+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-09-25 04:50:20.212861+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-09-25 06:39:43.056782+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-09-25 06:59:11.256632+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps