Project

General

Profile

09262017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58023 (starting evening of September 26, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Masao Sako (run manager, observer 2)
  • Nikolay Kuropatkin (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58023, date 20170926, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:34 CLST     UT 18:34     SidTim 14:15
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:48 CLST  22:48 UT   18:29  277 deg  
Eve. -10   20:23 CLST  23:23 UT   19:04  286 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:42 CLST  23:42 UT   19:23  291 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:01 CLST  00:01 UT   19:42  296 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:34 CLST  04:34 UT   00:14    4 deg  
Moonset    01:39 CLST  04:39 UT   00:19    5 deg  
Morn -18   06:06 CLST  09:06 UT   04:47   72 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:24 CLST  09:24 UT   05:05   76 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:44 CLST  09:44 UT   05:25   81 deg  
Sunrise    07:19 CLST  10:19 UT   06:00   90 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 263.0, Dec -18.4 Phase: 0.429

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/09/25 23:23'     Local time = 20:23
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
    
  • Obstac
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/09/26 09:25'     Local time = 06:25
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X1    short    2017-09-23 04:00:12.752077+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-09-23 04:19:30.316403+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-09-23 04:39:42.590900+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-09-23 04:59:09.625806+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-09-23 05:20:05.578364+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-09-23 06:28:46.008599+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-09-23 07:04:03.926700+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-09-23 07:17:11.429243+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-09-23 07:41:46.124061+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-09-25 01:07:42.940586+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-09-25 01:27:01.437056+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-09-25 04:02:23.181664+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-09-25 04:37:16.584066+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-09-25 04:50:20.212861+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-09-25 06:39:43.056782+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-09-25 06:59:11.256632+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps